Tips-y Tuesdays: How to Clean Out Your Pantry/Freezer with Compost Cookies

If you have been keeping up, you know that I got a new house! As a result, I had to work to clear out my pantry a bit, as well as the refrigerator and freezer. I love stocking up and being prepared to bake most things at a moment’s notice. If K wants brownies or chocolate chip cookies, I want to follow orders (his requests are such a compliment!). This means that we were going to have a lot of food to move. So, over the last month I was busy making random dishes, both to allow for some leftovers (in case we were short on time during the moving/transition time), and to use random ingredients.

IMG_6961

One of the best ways is to make recipes like Compost Cookies. I have made them before, near the start of my blog, but I decided to make them again. One reason was to put a theory into practice about glucose versus corn syrup. It appears that using glucose might actually help with the texture of the Momofuku Milk Bar cookies. It worked well for one recipe, so I tried this recipe again. The cookies still sunk a bit after cooling, but part of that was from using marshmallows. I am including this recipe to remember the latest combination of inclusions which formed a tasty combo. Next time I might not include the peanut butter chips, but it was all for the purpose of using up the last bit I had.

IMG_6944

Continue reading