Mixed Bag (Part 6): A Quartet of Treats

Like last week, I am feeling a little lazy and sharing some pictures of desserts I made that turned out pretty good…but I didn’t feel like documenting all of the details for you. Call it sleep-deprived blogging or just enjoying-the-good-weather blogging, I am okay with it.

IMG_3619

Let’s start with the biggest success of the three…the pies! I took a recipe that I have documented for you and made it into mini-pie form. In case you were curious and wanted to try it, I kept the recipe as is, and it ended up making 4 small pot pie-sized pies. The only problem was some extra liquid because I used frozen berries. I wanted to use fresh but they just weren’t good at that time of year. A friend had wanted fruit pie, so I made these for her birthday. She got two and K got two. I had some of his, as well, but just a few bites. I am a chocolate girl, but it was tasty!

IMG_3617

My lattice work got so much better this time than last time. You can see the little bits of butter tucked in, too…don’t forget that step of the recipe even though the pies are smaller.

IMG_3620

Any berries work. This mix was blackberry, strawberry, and blueberry.

IMG_3623

Also don’t forget the egg wash. Mmmm.

IMG_3621

With a little turbinado sugar on top, it is a great texture.

Next up, we have a different kind of pie…

IMG_3537

I believe I know what recipe I used, but I’m not positive, so I can’t share that (sorry).

IMG_3538

I was worried about the results because this didn’t look so good. The peppermint glaze got all funny from the melted chocolate on top. But, this is how it set up:

IMG_3539 IMG_3541

Still a bit messy, but tasty. A refreshing, chocolatey, rich treat that was a bit crisp on top and gooey inside.

IMG_3544

Speaking of chocolate treats, here is another one.

IMG_3613

I made a double batch of this recipe from Averie Cooks. It was pretty good, and simpler than this similar recipe I’ve made before, but not quite as good.

IMG_3605

The middle is made up of a recipe much like my fudge recipe, which I feel isn’t soft enough for bars. I prefer a softer middle. So, it might just be my preference. The oat part also didn’t taste as interesting to me as the other recipe…clearly I need to make the other recipe again!

IMG_3616

But, I did like how quickly they came together, and that I could make them with the Fudgelet watching.

One treat he could not sample were these marshmallows.

IMG_3636

I actually haven’t made marshmallows for awhile, so it was nice to make them again. What made these extra special (besides the sprinkles) was the champagne in them! It worked out because we had some leftover from this recipe, so I figured it was a good way to use it up. The marshmallows taste slightly boozy, but mostly the fruity flavor of the Asti was front and center. The recipe came from How Sweet Eats but I also came across this recipe which might be even better?

Don’t get me wrong, these marshmallows were tasty, but the texture and height wasn’t as good as they could be.

IMG_3630 IMG_3631 IMG_3633

The sprinkles were fun, but I needed fewer sprinkles in ratio to the marshmallows.

IMG_3634

So. Many. Sprinkles.

IMG_3635

Tune in next time and I will have a recipe for you. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.