Mixed Bag Monday (part 17): Party Salads

I am always trying to get more inspired to make side dishes. I mean to do more, but I usually get more excited about main courses and desserts. Occasionally I come across recipes I save, hoping for a reason to make them. Today I am sharing a few pictures from two recipes that were okay but not ones I would likely repeat.

The first comes from How Sweet Eats. I did not have a melon baller, and did not wish to pay more than a few dollars for one, sooooo we didn’t do balls. Forgive us? K helped me by cutting the watermelon. It was fairly easy to make…

Chopped produce and a vinaigrette mixed together is simple. But, the final dish was only “fine” and nothing spectacular.

Next I made a farro salad from America’s Test Kitchen. I liked this one more, but I would have liked less farro and more of the other ingredients.

I also made the mistake of doubling the recipe when a single batch would have been sufficient. My family always makes too much food for things.

Maybe I should have just done this and left out the farro? Then K might have tried it.

I liked it, but it was too much for just me to finish since I’m also still trying to convince the Fudgelet of farro’s merits.

Do you have any successful party salads to share?

 

Share Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.