Chicken and Mushroom (mini) pies

Today’s recipe is brought to you by a cookbook I received for my birthday. It was not something I had seen before, and the first recipe I opened to was for cooking kidneys. Hmm. It seemed not quite for me. But then, I flipped through it a bit more and found that almost all of the rest of the recipes were ones I wanted to try. I looked up reviews to see what people said, and someone mentioned these pies as being good. I decided to not only try them, but to double it and make some to take to a friend with a newborn. These were great because I froze the batch for her and was able to bake them fresh on the day she said she would like them. I also made a dessert from this book that I shared with her. She is a big Harry Potter fan, so I knew she would get a kick out of the recipes and the cookbook. But even if you’re not, these are still good pies. I added extra vegetables because that is how we roll. I also had enough extra pie crust and filling that I did a top-only pot pie with a pie dish for the extras. So many meals, and you can do the recipe in stages if you want, like I did.

Continue reading

