Grilled Old Bay Shrimp

I know I might be pushing it with grilling posts in October, but I’m trying to share all of these yummy meals before it is winter. I actually might be done grilling for the simple fact that my gas tank is just about empty and it seems a little late in the season to fill it. I’m also unsure how much grilling I will do when next year rolls around. Will the baby let me grill? Will it make things easier? No idea at this point. Oh well, I will at least save this recipe to make again when I am back to grilling. And hopefully you will want to do the same!

A friend was asking me about Old Bay around the time I had spotted this recipe. I gave her the rest of a container I had, and then opened my new container for this recipe. In case you’re out of the loop, Old Bay is a classic Maryland spice mix. What I just found out was that it was created by a Jewish guy escaping the Nazis around the beginning of World War II. He settled in Maryland and created this seasoning around 1939. I think that is such an interesting history to go along with an interesting seasoning.

As a Marylander, I had Old Bay on everything, from Deviled Eggs, corn, French fries, etc. to the obvious choices of crabs and shrimp. In fact, steamed shrimp was so common at the grocery stores back home, that I didn’t realize it was more of a local treat. We can’t just go order some Old Bay steamed shrimp here for a take-out dinner from a grocery store like we could in Maryland. So, when I saw a Maryland-style recipe for shrimp, I wanted to try it. I left out the corn because corn AND potatoes seemed like overkill. If you wanted, you could swap in corn for the potatoes instead. I really liked the potatoes in the Old Bay/butter mixture and would do it again.

And in case you’re wondering, this amount of seasoning is not spicy. The Fudgelet ate it all, no problem.

Directions for Grilled Old Bay Shrimp

Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen

  • 1.5 pounds extra large shrimp, peeled and deveined (21-25 per pound was recommended, but I could only get smaller or 13-15 count, so I used 13-15 count)
  • 1 quart cold water
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons kosher salt (I used closer to 1 Tablespoon since my shrimp listed salt as an ingredient)
  • 3/4 pound small red potatoes
  • 4 Tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1.5 Tablespoons Old Bay seasoning
  • 1-2 Tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

Preheat your grill to high.

Stir the sugar and kosher salt into the water in a large bowl until dissolved. Then add the shrimp and place in the refrigerator to brine for 15 minutes. After, remove the shrimp from the brine and pat dry with paper towels.

Meanwhile, prepare the potatoes by cutting them into 1-inch sized pieces. You can microwave them or boil them until tender. This time I microwaved, but next time I think I will just boil them.

Stir together the butter and Old Bay in a bowl. Thread the shrimp onto skewers, alternating the direction of the heads and tails. Brush some of the butter mixture onto the shrimp.

Oil the grilling grate, then grill the shrimp skewers for about 2 minutes on the first side (close the grill), then another minute or so on the other side.

You want the shrimp to be cooked through with some browning, but not scorched. Transfer to a plate and tent with foil.

Toss the potatoes and shrimp with the remaining melted butter mixture, then serve with the parsley on top.

Directions for Grilled Old Bay Shrimp (without pictures)

Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen

  • 1.5 pounds extra large shrimp, peeled and deveined (21-25 per pound was recommended, but I could only get smaller or 13-15 count, so I used 13-15 count)
  • 1 quart cold water
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons kosher salt (I used closer to 1 Tablespoon since my shrimp listed salt as an ingredient)
  • 3/4 pound small red potatoes
  • 4 Tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1.5 Tablespoons Old Bay seasoning
  • 1-2 Tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

Preheat your grill to high.

Stir the sugar and kosher salt into the water in a large bowl until dissolved. Then add the shrimp and place in the refrigerator to brine for 15 minutes. After, remove the shrimp from the brine and pat dry with paper towels.

Meanwhile, prepare the potatoes by cutting them into 1-inch sized pieces. You can microwave them or boil them until tender. This time I microwaved, but next time I think I will just boil them.

Stir together the butter and Old Bay in a bowl. Thread the shrimp onto skewers, alternating the direction of the heads and tails. Brush some of the butter mixture onto the shrimp. Oil the grilling grate, then grill the shrimp skewers for about 2 minutes on the first side (close the grill), then another minute or so on the other side. You want the shrimp to be cooked through with some browning, but not scorched. Transfer to a plate and tent with foil.

Toss the potatoes and shrimp with the remaining melted butter mixture, then serve with the parsley on top.

Share Your Thoughts

