Slow-Cooker Chicken Stock

I’ve made recipes in the slow cooker before that yield broth, like this one. But, I had not seen one where you could take already cooked chicken and turn it into an easy broth. For awhile, I was buying rotisserie chickens from the store and eating them throughout the week for lunch. It was easy and cheap. Well, now I was able to take those carcasses I saved (just in case) and use them for a stock. The original recipe says you need 3-4 chicken carcasses, but I found 2 was plenty. Maybe my chickens run large? Basically, once I filled one of my gallon-sized freezer bags with the bones, I was ready to go.

So, here is what you do. Start with the gallon-sized amount of chicken bones. It’s okay if they are not perfectly cleaned of all of the meat/etc. I keep my bag in the freezer and add to it as I get new ones. Keep in mind these are bones from already cooked chicken, whether you make your own or buy it.

This is one of the easiest ways to make chicken broth, and it tasted good in our soups, too.

Directions for Slow-Cooker Chicken Stock

Slightly adapted from America’s Test Kitchen

  • 3 quarts (12 cups) water
  • 1 gallon freezer bag amount of roasted chicken bones (about 2 chickens in my case)
  • 1 onion, roughly chopped (I used shallots because that’s what I had on hand)
  • 2 carrots, peeled and cut into 1-inch chunks
  • 2 celery ribs, roughly chopped
  • 1 teaspoon black peppercorns (I used a mix because that’s what I had on hand)
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 bay leaf

Place all of the ingredients in the slow cooker. Cover and cook on high for 8-10 hours. Let it cool slightly, then strain it. Use the broth immediately or let it cool completely before chilling it. You can then remove the surface fat with a spoon when it is cold. Refrigerate the broth for up to 5 days, or freeze for up to 2 months.

 

 

Share Your Thoughts

