Mixed Bag Mondays (part 13): Mostly Misses

Let’s start with the cute…the Fudgelet attempting to help me line the cupcake tray. He struggled with separating them and mostly would give me a stack of 5-10 in each. Oops.

img_5277

Now let’s talk about those cupcakes. I can’t remember which recipe it is because it wasn’t remarkable enough to bother remembering. I want to say it was from my Back in the Day Bakery cookbook…but I could be wrong.

img_5282

It wasn’t a bad cupcake, but not amazing. Good enough to eat, but not really good enough to make again.

img_5283 img_5291

The frosting was a little annoying to make and too sweet for me.

img_5295

Then let’s go to another “middle of the pack” recipe. I was shocked that I was not a huge fan of a cookie recipe from Dorie Greenspan. This is from her latest book, a book all about cookies.

img_5334

It started with coffee, and there are chocolate chunks in the recipe, so I used some coffee flavored chocolate that we enjoy.

img_5336

The coffee goes straight into the dough.

img_5338

You roll it out and then cut out rounds to fit in a muffin tin for baking.

img_5341

I should have done smaller chocolate chunks, because it was hard cutting around them in the chilled dough.

img_5346

It was a little tricky to cut them and then put them in the pan because the dough was a bit hard.

img_5347

And then when they baked, I must have overbaked them? They came out a little too thin and almost burnt for me.

img_5356

I would possibly make them again and try making the cookies thicker and bake them for less time…but there are so many other cookie recipes to try, that I might wait for awhile.

img_5358

Finally we come to the worst of the three recipes today. This was one I was super excited to make from The Faux Martha. It is a recipe I linked to in a Friday Favorites because it seemed so cool. You blend the sauce together.

img_5372

Then it looks nice and ugly…

img_5373

Take raw pasta…

img_5374

And pour the sauce on top before baking.

img_5375

Top with mozzarella after it bakes for a bit…

img_5376 img_5377

And ta-da! The sauce will magically look normal and the pasta will be cooked perfectly.

img_5379

Or not. This did not look good and didn’t even taste good. The pasta had a funny texture…kind of chewy? The sauce was also not tasty. K and the Fudgelet liked it a bit more than I did, but I apologized for it the whole time we ate it.

Oh well. I have had some successes recently too, that I will continue to share. In the meantime, keep at it in the kitchen!

Share Your Thoughts

