Mixed Bag Mondays (part 12): Repeat Winners and Brussel Sprouts

Often, I try to make new dishes, but sometimes I like to make something repeatedly, or tweak a dish. I’ve tried to make brussel sprouts for K since we started dating. But nothing ever worked. Not cooking them my favorite way (steamed with a little butter to serve), not roasting them with bacon, not sauteing them…not even eating them at restaurants where professionals could try to sway him. I gave up. But, I haven’t given up on making the Fudgelet eat everything. I even have him eat food I don’t like, just so that he can be better than both of us! He enjoys brussel sprouts, but prefers them cooked crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Roasting is the best for that.

img_5216

So, I started roasting them with some prosciutto I had leftover from a different recipe. I also bought them on a stalk…they seemed fresher and were also a great price. Well, not only did the Fudgelet and I like them, but K tried them and said to make them again!? Crazy.

img_5209 img_5210

I start by removing them from the stalk and pulling off their outer layers until there is no more visible dirt. Then I rinse them in water. I chop them by cutting off the bottom, and cutting them into quarters (or halves if they are small).

img_5212

They go on a sprayed piece of foil on a baking sheet, tossed with olive oil, salt, pepper, and some all-purpose seasoning.

img_5213

Then I slice the prosciutto and place it on top.

img_5214

I roast at 400 degrees F until browned, tossing halfway. It takes about 20-30 minutes.

img_5215

Easy! If you haven’t tried brussel sprouts on the stalk, and you see them at your store, look for ones that are a bright green and not shriveled.

Next we have some repeat winners…

img_5207

I have made these cinnamon rolls so many times now. They are always yummy, and always a hit with a crowd.

img_5208

Nothing really new to report about them, just sharing that they are still good. And that they look prettier if you let them cool a bit before glazing.

img_5537

For the Chinese New Year, we really tried to find a head-on full chicken to cook. But I had no luck with our local Asian stores. It wasn’t until later that I found out my in-laws also struggle to get them locally (well, not here locally, but there locally). So, it wasn’t something to feel dumb about. However, I did manage some traditional food, with the leaves-on mandarin oranges, a batch of peanut butter cookies (not traditional, but peanuts are), and some dumplings. I loosely followed a Smitten Kitchen recipe for the dumplings, and we ate them fried.

img_5542

Then, a week later, we ate them in wonton soup, using this other recipe from my blog.

img_5590

img_5586 img_5587 img_5589

To make the dumplings, I simply mixed ground chicken with soy sauce, minced ginger, minced garlic, chopped green onion, sesame oil, white pepper, salt, and cornstarch, like my usual marinade.

img_5501

After I mixed it together, I chilled it to make it more firm and then used it to fill my potsticker wrappers.

20170126_221916987_ios

I froze them on a tray, not touching each other, until I was ready to cook them. Then, I simply cooked them from frozen. 3/4 pound or so of ground chicken will make about 40 small dumplings.

20170126_221920890_ios

Share Your Thoughts

