Tips-y Tuesdays: Grilled Indian Chicken

Whenever I mention making some Indian food, K almost always wants chicken with some sort of sauce. And up to now, it was always roasting it in the oven and then either marinating the chicken with a yogurt sauce (and serving extra sauce on the side) or making a tomato/cream sauce. Now, I have a new method I can use when the weather is cooperating: the grill!

img_4758

When I last posted about grilling, I mentioned that I always use foil. Except…I am changing that again. If I am cooking the chicken without a sauce, then yes. Foil is nice to help keep the meat tender. If I am planning on serving the chicken with a sauce, then K prefers the chicken on the dryer side. So this time I grilled this way:

  • Season the chicken and use the marinade just like the original recipe calls for.
  • Have the gas on medium low to cook for 5-10 minutes on the first side (some brown marks, but no major charring), then flip the pieces and turn up the heat to cook the chicken until it is cooked through.
  • When the chicken is cooked, you can flip again to brown the first side more if desired.
  • Set the chicken aside to rest before serving with the sauce.

I served it alongside grilled zucchini which went really well.

img_4762 img_4759 img_4760 img_4763

Next time it is good weather and you want chicken that goes well with sauce, try grilling it.

Share Your Thoughts

