Mixed Bag (Part 9): Biscuits and Pies

Today is about flaky delicacies. I’ve been making more pies, trying out different fillings and a different crust from Stella Parks. I’ve also been making a new biscuit recipe from a recipe writer I normally respect but … well, read ahead to see.IMG_4464

Let’s start with the biscuits. Flaky for sure, but no matter what I did, they never rose much. I tried the recipe multiple times because I did like the texture of them. I even bought self-rising flour instead of doing a substitute (which I did the first time). Still didn’t work properly so I reverted back to my old recipe.

IMG_4465

But if you are curious, here are some pictures from making them.

IMG_4459 IMG_4460 IMG_4461 IMG_4463

Now let’s move on to the more successful pie crust. I’m still working on using it, but I like that you don’t have to use machines. A food processor can be nice and easy but also a pain to clean and use with a toddler around. I’d recommend trying out her recipe if you want a recipe not requiring any fancy tools.

IMG_4466 IMG_4467

I am getting better at my lattice crusts, and hope to move to other styles soon, too.

IMG_4468 IMG_4471

My filling was a bit runny but does it matter that much if it tastes good? I will leave picture perfect pies to the more experienced pie makers.

IMG_4474

What new recipes have you been trying?

Share Your Thoughts

