Homemade Mayonnaise

That’s right. I finally made it. After literally years of thinking about it and wondering, I finally made mayo. It was so much easier than I expected, although having an immersion blender is probably the main reason? I have no idea on how to make it without one, so sorry…can’t help you there. I can say that this method has worked for me multiple times.

IMG_4250

When I first made it, I used olive oil as I mention below. Buuuuut. It didn’t taste good. It tasted like olive oil mayo. Maybe if you like that kind of thing? I love olive oil, but not as the dominant flavor in mayo. Then I bought some avocado oil from Costco after hearing it can be pretty awesome for cooking, especially with high temperatures. And sure enough, it has been awesome for that as well as for this recipe.

IMG_4246

I like to add lots of lemon juice to mine. I like the extra tartness. I didn’t include my bonus lemon juice in the amount, though…just the base amount and then allow you to customize for your taste buds. Adding extra salt and pepper didn’t matter as much to me as lemon juice. And as far as adding other flavors, I did try garlic but didn’t care for it that much, either. Again, it depends on what you like.

IMG_4247

We used it on fancy chicken sandwiches, as well as burgers. And, basically each time I make steak now I make a batch because it’s a nice condiment for the steak as well as for fries that we inevitably make alongside.

Now go, go forth and make yourself some!

Directions for Homemade Mayonnaise

  • 2 teaspoons water
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice (plus extra to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup canola oil (or other neutral oil)
  • 1/2 cup avocado oil (I tried olive oil but didn’t like the taste)
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Using a tall thin container (most likely the one that came with your immersion blender), stir together the water, lemon juice, mustard, and egg.

IMG_4241

Then, slowly pour the canola oil on top.

IMG_4242

Now, slowly submerge the immersion blender head down into the bottom of the container. The head should almost touch the sides. Turn it on high and slowly pull the head up. The mixture should turn mayo-like. If you need to, repeat the slow submersion and blending. Then, scrape into a bowl and add salt and pepper.

IMG_4243

Slowly pour in the avocado oil while you whisk. Or, be less awesome like myself and pour a bit and whisk a bit, a little at a time. Keep whisking until it thickens and looks like mayonnaise.

IMG_4244

Taste it and add more lemon juice, salt, or pepper, as needed. You can also add other seasoning.

IMG_4245

Directions for Homemade Mayonnaise (without pictures)

  • 2 teaspoons water
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice (plus extra to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup canola oil (or other neutral oil)
  • 1/2 cup avocado oil (I tried olive oil but didn’t like the taste)
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Using a tall thin container (most likely the one that came with your immersion blender), stir together the water, lemon juice, mustard, and egg. Then, slowly pour the canola oil on top. Now, slowly submerge the immersion blender head down into the bottom of the container. The head should almost touch the sides. Turn it on high and slowly pull the head up. The mixture should turn mayo-like. If you need to, repeat the slow submersion and blending. Then, scrape into a bowl and add salt and pepper. Slowly pour in the avocado oil while you whisk. Or, be less awesome like myself and pour a bit and whisk a bit, a little at a time. Keep whisking until it thickens and looks like mayonnaise. Taste it and add more lemon juice, salt, or pepper, as needed. You can also add other seasoning.

Share Your Thoughts

