Chicken Ghee Skillet Roast

This was a recipe I had to make. I had all of the ingredients…I did end up buying some extra chicken to make a larger batch for leftovers, and I needed a lime, but that was minor. I love recipes where I can just use my pantry. Don’t you?

IMG_4014

I did cheat slightly. I did not get the fenugreek seeds from the original recipe (I couldn’t find them at my store). I also couldn’t find leg quarters. And then there is the fact that I used already ground coriander and cumin because that is what I have. Soooo, maybe not a true pantry recipe if you follow it as is. I do encourage you to read the original recipe (linked below) just to see what it should have, and you can follow it instead if desired. I on purpose left out the spicy element because of the Fudgelet, but again, you could add it back in or leave it without. It was still tasty with the garlic and other spices.

IMG_4003

Directions for Chicken Ghee Skillet Roast

Adapted from Serious Eats

  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • 1/2 Tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 2 pounds chicken thighs, boneless and skinless
  • 3 Tablespoons ghee
  • 6 medium-sized garlic cloves
  • 2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 3/4 cup water

In a large bowl, stir together the yogurt, lime juice, turmeric, salt, and pepper. Add the chicken, turning it to coat it completely. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or up to overnight.

IMG_4007

When ready to cook, heat a small bit of the ghee in a cast iron skillet over medium heat until shimmering. Add the garlic and cook for about 3-4 minutes, then add the coriander and cumin, cooking for another minute until fragrant.

IMG_4004

Remove from the skillet and allow to cool, then grind into a paste using either a blender, food processor, or mortar and pestle.

IMG_4005 IMG_4006

Meanwhile, heat more of the ghee and brown the chicken in batches over medium-high heat. When all of the chicken is browned, place all of the chicken around the pan and then make room in the middle of the pan to add the spice paste.

I didn't do batches which is why my chicken isn't browned enough. Do what I say, not as I did. ;)

I didn’t do batches which is why my chicken isn’t browned enough. Do what I say, not as I did. 😉

Stir the paste with the chicken, then add the water and reduce the heat to low.

IMG_4009 IMG_4010

Let the chicken cook completely (about 10-15 minutes).

IMG_4011

Serve over rice.

IMG_4012

Directions for Chicken Ghee Skillet Roast (without pictures)

Adapted from Serious Eats

  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • 1/2 Tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 2 pounds chicken thighs, boneless and skinless
  • 3 Tablespoons ghee
  • 6 medium-sized garlic cloves
  • 2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 3/4 cup water

In a large bowl, stir together the yogurt, lime juice, turmeric, salt, and pepper. Add the chicken, turning it to coat it completely. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or up to overnight.

When ready to cook, heat a small bit of the ghee in a cast iron skillet over medium heat until shimmering. Add the garlic and cook for about 3-4 minutes, then add the coriander and cumin, cooking for another minute until fragrant.

Remove from the skillet and allow to cool, then grind into a paste using either a blender, food processor, or mortar and pestle.

Meanwhile, heat more of the ghee and brown the chicken in batches over medium-high heat. When all of the chicken is browned, place all of the chicken around the pan and then make room in the middle of the pan to add the spice paste. Stir the paste with the chicken, then add the water and reduce the heat to low. Let the chicken cook completely (about 10-15 minutes).  Serve over rice.

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken Ghee Skillet Roast

Share Your Thoughts

