Mixed Bag (Part 8): Pierogi Into Cheeseburger Pie

I’ve made pierogi before, but it was back when K and I were first dating. They were the traditional type, and he helped me fold all of them. This time, I folded them all on my own and felt like the effort was not worth the end product. Ravioli are worth it to me, but not pierogi, or at least not this recipe. Before you decide to click away to another website or recipe, let me remind you that today’s post is a mixed bag. That means there was something good that came out of the pierogi. An easy cheeseburger pie! Nothing fancy, nothing crazy, but it was deemed tasty by all of us.

IMG_4349

When I made the pierogi, I had lots of filling leftover. I even made more pierogi than the recipe called for, and overstuffed them. I did have extra meat in my filling just because I didn’t feel like splitting a package and figured I would find a use for any extra. And so I did. Next time, I would just make the filling again, and use it for a thicker pie, or maybe just additional pies.

Let’s start with the pierogi, since I did go to the effort of making them…in case you are interested, this is how it looked.

IMG_4313 IMG_4314

Making the dough wasn’t anything too crazy.

IMG_4320

Rolling the dough and cutting them out was a bit tricky. The dough didn’t want to stay relaxed.

The filling was mostly what the original recipe called for, but I wanted to pump up the flavor a bit.

IMG_4315

So besides adding more beef (a full pound of beef instead of half), I also added some mustard and ketchup.

IMG_4316

I also had started the onions before the beef to allow them to cook a bit before. We like our onions well-cooked in this house.

IMG_4317

Meanwhile, I prepped the bacon and the pickles.

IMG_4318 IMG_4319

The pickles were tricky to find. I couldn’t believe how most at the store had food coloring and high fructose corn syrup. They’re pickles, people. Not candy. Aaaannnyway, I paid a bit more for my less brightly colored pickles that still packed a pickly punch.

IMG_4321

After I assembled the pierogi, I froze them. I cooked them a few days later as directed…

IMG_4360 IMG_4361 IMG_4362 IMG_4363

I also caramelized some onion and sauteed mushrooms for topping them.

IMG_4365 IMG_4367

Not bad, but not awesome for me. However, the filling worked well in a pie.

IMG_4343

I whisked together some eggs, milk, shredded cheddar cheese, and seasoning (salt, pepper, etc…whatever you like with your eggs/burger meat).

IMG_4344

Then warmed up the filling a bit in my cast-iron skillet.

IMG_4345

Poured the egg mixture on top.

IMG_4346

Baked in a 400 degree oven until golden on top.

IMG_4347

Let it cool slightly before cutting and serving.

IMG_4348

Yummy!

Share Your Thoughts

