Tips-y Tuesdays: Overnight Oats

Before you start to pass judgment and think I’m some hipstery cook, let me tell you that overnight oats are EASY and fast. They make a great breakfast when you have little time to make food in the morning (hi, Toddler Fudgelet!) but want something filling. In the morning, after the Fudgelet gets me up with his morning song (wah wah is the fav), we brush our teeth and go downstairs where he plays and I work out. Sometimes K can take him in the morning while I work out so that he gets some Daddy time, but otherwise he hangs with me. Occasionally he tries some moves, and other times he is counting my reps with me (he can do 1, 2, 3 but sometimes forgets what comes next, then can go up to 9). After this, depending on hunger levels, I either shower or do breakfast next. Either way, we are both quite hungry by this point. As a result, I enjoy quick breakfasts that are easy to assemble.

IMG_3830

I recently made some date bars that I started using to top our cereal with. I will share that recipe shortly (I hope!). Dried fruit, nuts, etc. are all great toppings.

Overnight oats require most of the work ahead of time. And I use the term “work” loosely. In the morning, you just need another couple minutes depending on your toppings. For my oats, I use a quick cooking steel cut variety but you can use regular old-fashioned oats, too. You should play with the ratio of milk and oats to see what texture you prefer.

Directions for Overnight Oats

  • 1/3 cup steel cut (quick cooking) oats
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon maple syrup
  • Toppings

Stir together the oats, milk, and syrup in a bowl. Cover and refrigerate overnight. In the morning, stir and top with dried fruit, granola, etc. Serve!

IMG_3827 IMG_3828

IMG_3829

Share Your Thoughts

