Chocolate Truffle Pie

Even though I shared a recipe for Pi Day, this was the actual pie I made for this year’s Pi Day. I mean, really, you can’t have too many pies, especially when I tend to go for the chocolate kind.

IMG_3701

Now, why did I need to make this pie? Well, back in the fall, the Fudgelet and I used to go to a play place nearby with a group of friends. One mom had reserved it each Monday afternoon, which meant that we only had to pay $5 for 2 hours of bounce house, ride on toys, train set, toy kitchen, blocks, etc. fun…with my friends and their kids. It was awesome! Not everyone made it each week, but it was a welcome date when you could, especially during the rainy fall/winter months. Seeing our friends for at least one day a week helped during some sleepless days/weeks. Well, unfortunately, the place closed at the end of the year, and so we decided to start our own Monday playdates. If you can do a Monday, you simply “sign up” for your date and then as the week rolls around, the mom can decide to host it at her house, at a park, etc. Whomever can make it goes, and there are no requirements for time/refreshments/etc. We wanted it as low-key as possible. So far we are into May and it is still going, so I think that is good.

IMG_3695

Anyway, I run the rotations and had personally signed up several times to host but had to cancel a couple times in a row due to sickness (both me and the Fudgelet). I signed up for Pi Day (duh, had to…a chance to make a pie for people!) and was doing so well. The Fudgelet had been sick, but it was over a week prior and he was doing great. And THEN the Wednesday before it I felt like death. It cleared up by the next day, but now I’m so nervous to offer to host again! It’s like I’m asking to get sick, eek! Luckily, the pie was simple to make. I had already bought the supplies, so I was making it no matter what…I just hoped I could share it. Before the week arrived, I had asked my friends what type of pie I should make. They asked what pies were on the list. I started by mentioning a “chocolate truffle pie” and they didn’t let me continue. Decision made!

IMG_3700

I made a single pie crust and used the scraps to make some designs on top. Unfortunately, some of the designs sunk as it baked. Next time I would bake them on a sheet, then when the top of the pie was set, put them on top to continue baking.

IMG_3678

By the way, did you like that scoop on top of the pie? Homemade peanut butter whipped cream I posted about earlier this week. There are a bunch of chocolate/peanut butter fans in my playdate group, so I wanted to add that on. It made the pie even more amazing.

Directions for Chocolate Truffle Pie

Slightly adapted from Cookies and Cups

  • 1 pie crust, chilled in the pan
  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 7 eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. You can use a mixer or stir by hand. Either way, stir together all of the ingredients (except for the crust), and then beat until smooth (about 2-3 minutes on medium speed with a mixer).

IMG_3675 IMG_3677

Pour into the crust and bake for 45-60 minutes until the center is set. Remove from the oven and let it cool completely before slicing.

Next time I will top with the design later, and bake them separately so they don't sink.

Next time I will top with the design later, and bake them separately so they don’t sink.

IMG_3686

Directions for Chocolate Truffle Pie (without pictures)

Slightly adapted from Cookies and Cups

  • 1 pie crust, chilled in the pan
  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 7 eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. You can use a mixer or stir by hand. Either way, stir together all of the ingredients (except for the crust), and then beat until smooth (about 2-3 minutes on medium speed with a mixer).

Pour into the crust and bake for 45-60 minutes until the center is set. Remove from the oven and let it cool completely before slicing.

Share Your Thoughts

