Cranberry-Walnut-Orange Muffins (Take 2)

These muffins have been discussed before. In fact, they gave me some trouble before. Or rather, I gave them trouble. Basically, flipping pages back and forth while following three sets of directions was confusing. Aaaannnnyway, my dad requested them again, and I jumped at the chance to make them again. This time, I would have no trouble!

IMG_3356

Look how nice and tall they are, and yet not too dense. Just muffin-y enough to be eaten for breakfast.

IMG_3357

Everything looks good, right? Well, we almost had no muffins. I had everything I needed, which is part of the reason I wanted to make this from my dad’s list. I keep walnuts in my freezer (they come up in enough recipes and keep for awhile in there), and I even had oranges to zest since the Fudgelet has been going nutty for them–haha, slight pun intended. I thought I had some cranberries, which I did, but knew I might need more. No big deal. I ended up tossing my old ones because they didn’t seem as fresh as they should be.

IMG_3352

When I went to the store to pick up some, they didn’t have any! Fresh, frozen, nothing. A manager-type person told me to use canned. I said, that’s cranberry sauce and I need whole cranberries in my muffins. He seemed confused at the idea. Sigh. Thankfully one of his produce workers told me that they stopped carrying cranberries except around the holidays, even though they used to. So, bad news, but at least I wasn’t going crazy. On the way home we pass a different grocery store, so I carried the Fudgelet all around until we finally found what we were looking for…

IMG_3341

Even better than finding them was finding the store-brand frozen cranberries which turned out to be even better quality than the normal brand I am stuck buying. Yay!

IMG_3342

At least the walnuts were easy…

IMG_3351

But really, these were still so easy to make. Finding cranberries isn’t necessarily a pain, and once you find a store that has them year-round, you’re set. Now, go make these muffins! Or at least go get your necessary supplies.

Directions for Cranberry-Walnut-Orange Muffins

Slightly adapted from America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1.5 cups plain yogurt (not no-fat)
  • 1 teaspoon grated fresh orange zest
  • 2 eggs
  • 8 Tablespoons (1/2 cup) butter, melted and slightly cooled
  • 1.5 cups coarsely chopped cranberries (frozen or fresh)
  • 3/4 cup coarsely chopped toasted walnuts (toast first, then chop)
  • Turbinado sugar (optional)

Grease a standard muffin pan and preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

IMG_3343

In a medium bowl, whisk together the yogurt, orange zest, and both eggs until smooth.

IMG_3344

Fold the yogurt mixture into the flour mixture until just barely combined.

IMG_3345

Then fold in the melted butter, cranberries, and walnuts.

IMG_3346

IMG_3347

When everything is combined, use a 1/3 cup measuring cup to help portion out the muffin batter into the muffin pan. Or, use a muffin scoop if you have one.

IMG_3349

Whatever batter remains after filling each muffin well, divide evenly among the muffins. Top each muffin with a bit of turbinado sugar, if desired.

IMG_3348

Bake until a toothpick or cake tester comes out with a few crumbs attached, about 25 minutes. Rotate the pan halfway through baking, and feel free to check the muffins starting closer to 20 minutes, just in case.

Let the muffins cool in the pans for about 5 minutes until you can handle them easily, then flip them out onto a wire rack to cool for 10 minutes before serving. They do freeze well, if you cannot eat 1 dozen muffins quickly enough.

IMG_3350

IMG_3354

Directions for Cranberry-Walnut-Orange Muffins (without pictures)

Slightly adapted from America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1.5 cups plain yogurt (not no-fat)
  • 1 teaspoon grated fresh orange zest
  • 2 eggs
  • 8 Tablespoons (1/2 cup) butter, melted and slightly cooled
  • 1.5 cups coarsely chopped cranberries (frozen or fresh)
  • 3/4 cup coarsely chopped toasted walnuts (toast first, then chop)
  • Turbinado sugar (optional)

Grease a standard muffin pan and preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a medium bowl, whisk together the yogurt, orange zest, and both eggs until smooth. Fold the yogurt mixture into the flour mixture until just barely combined. Then fold in the melted butter, cranberries, and walnuts.

When everything is combined, use a 1/3 cup measuring cup to help portion out the muffin batter into the muffin pan. Or, use a muffin scoop if you have one. Whatever batter remains after filling each muffin well, divide evenly among the muffins. Top each muffin with a bit of turbinado sugar, if desired. Bake until a toothpick or cake tester comes out with a few crumbs attached, about 25 minutes. Rotate the pan halfway through baking, and feel free to check the muffins starting closer to 20 minutes, just in case.

Let the muffins cool in the pans for about 5 minutes until you can handle them easily, then flip them out onto a wire rack to cool for 10 minutes before serving. They do freeze well, if you cannot eat 1 dozen muffins quickly enough.

2 thoughts on “Cranberry-Walnut-Orange Muffins (Take 2)

  1. I don’t want to make you jealous, but our cottage is in one of the top cranberry-producing regions of the world. I could get you a big giant bag! I might have to get myself one so that I can try some of your lovely golden-looking muffins.

Share Your Thoughts

