Homemade Paneer (and a Ricotta Cameo)

When I first received Pomegranates and Pine Nuts, I saw there was a recipe for making paneer which was so much simpler than I expected. I didn’t want to risk making it at the time, though, since I was pregnant and didn’t want to risk messing something up. Then, after I had the Fudgelet, I totally forgot about it. I was making some Indian food and was excited to remake this dish with paneer, as it was intended.

IMG_3360 IMG_3362

I had success with the paneer, even though it didn’t turn out exactly as I expected. I thought it would be more like blocks of cheese, and they were more pebbles, but still squeaky!

Unfortunately, I did not have full success with my ricotta. I learned from it…part of the problem was the directions I followed. What I did make was tasty, though.

IMG_3503 IMG_3507 IMG_3508

I used it in homemade ravioli, and you can see the difference in the homemade versus store-bought ricotta in the picture below. The store-bought one is on the bottom, and mine is the upper left.

IMG_3509

Until I have better luck, I will wait to share a recipe for ricotta.

Directions for Homemade Paneer

From Pomegranates and Pine Nuts

  • 3/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 4.25 cups whole milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Put the yogurt in a bowl and cover with a towel.

IMG_3300

Leave it at room temperature for 24 hours, up to 48 hours until it tastes sour. When the yogurt is ready, bring the milk to a gentle boil.

IMG_3301

Whisk the yogurt into the milk, stirring until the milk solids curdle and separate from the whey.

IMG_3302

Remove from the heat and let it sit for up to an hour to allow the milk to continue to curdle.

IMG_3303

Line a colander with cheesecloth and place the colander over a large bowl.

IMG_3304

Pour in the curdled milk, then when done pouring, tie the edges of the cheesecloth together. I did the directions for making a more firm paneer, so I rested it in a colander and added weight to it, letting it strain for a couple hours.

IMG_3305 IMG_3306

IMG_3359 IMG_3307

Directions for Homemade Paneer (without pictures)

From Pomegranates and Pine Nuts

  • 3/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 4.25 cups whole milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Put the yogurt in a bowl and cover with a towel. Leave it at room temperature for 24 hours, up to 48 hours until it tastes sour. When the yogurt is ready, bring the milk to a gentle boil. Whisk the yogurt into the milk, stirring until the milk solids curdle and separate from the whey. Remove from the heat and let it sit for up to an hour to allow the milk to continue to curdle. Line a colander with cheesecloth and place the colander over a large bowl. Pour in the curdled milk, then when done pouring, tie the edges of the cheesecloth together. I did the directions for making a more firm paneer, so I rested it in a colander and added weight to it, letting it strain for a couple hours.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Paneer (and a Ricotta Cameo)

Share Your Thoughts

