King Arthur Flour’s Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

In the pursuit of making the most chocolate chip cookies ever…here is another one. Haha! I thought this recipe sounded super weird. Whole wheat flour, cider vinegar, honey….people had to comment on this, for sure. So, I went onto King Arthur Flour’s website and checked out the comments section of the recipe. Hard to believe, but people really liked them! I liked that they were fairly straightforward, and I wanted to make something for a friend’s birthday. Part of her list of ideas included “chocolate chip cookies” (check), “something you’ve been wanting to try” (check), and “chocolate with peanut butter” (not part of the original recipe, but something I could do, so check!).

IMG_3278-001

I’ve made a few modifications. The first? Measuring in grams. My scale doesn’t do “3/8 ounce”, and so I decided to use the volume amounts listed, and weigh them with my scale to record the gram measurements. Grams are a bit easier. Then, there’s the butter. I pulled out a stick of butter and decided I would put back the 2 Tablespoons when I actually went to make the dough. But I forgot….and I added the whole stick. Extra butter in cookies? No big deal, haha. I also had to substitute instant coffee for the espresso powder because I don’t have espresso powder. I will probably buy some after I finish up my instant coffee, though, just to compare.

Oh, final notes. I wouldn’t call these cookies soft, like they did. I checked them at 10 minutes like they said, but it was waaaay too underdone. Not browned at all on the underside, like they said I should look for. So, I kept checking each minute or two. I like my cookies a bit more done, so feel free to pull yours out sooner. And, if you want flatter cookies, flatten them before baking. They stayed relatively in place with little spreading, so put them in the oven how you want them to come out.

IMG_3275-001

Directions for KAF’s Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from King Arthur Flour

  • 8 Tablespoons (1 stick) butter, room temperature
  • 74 g granulated sugar
  • 80 g light brown sugar
  • 27 g honey
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon instant coffee
  • 3/4 teaspoon (kosher if you have it) salt
  • 7 g (1 Tablespoon) cider vinegar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 275 g whole wheat flour
  • 3 cups semisweet chocolate chips (2 cups chocolate chips, 1 cup chocolate with peanut butter filling chips is what I used)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Prepare 2-3 baking sheets. Beat together on medium speed the butter, both sugars, honey, vanilla, instant coffee, and salt until smooth and a bit fluffy.

IMG_3272-001

Beat in the vinegar, egg, baking soda, and baking powder for 2-3 minutes.

IMG_3273-001

Then stir in the flour. Just before the flour is combined, stir in the chocolate chips.

IMG_3274-001

Scoop the cookies onto your baking sheets. A Tablespoon-sized scoop will yield about 3 dozen cookies.

IMG_3276-001

Bake the cookies for 10-13 minutes, until the bottoms are lightly browned. Allow them to cool for 10 minutes before transferring them to a rack to cool completely.

IMG_3277-001

Directions for KAF’s Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies (without pictures)

Adapted from King Arthur Flour

  • 8 Tablespoons (1 stick) butter, room temperature
  • 74 g granulated sugar
  • 80 g light brown sugar
  • 27 g honey
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon instant coffee
  • 3/4 teaspoon (kosher if you have it) salt
  • 7 g (1 Tablespoon) cider vinegar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 275 g whole wheat flour
  • 3 cups semisweet chocolate chips (2 cups chocolate chips, 1 cup chocolate with peanut butter filling chips is what I used)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Prepare 2-3 baking sheets. Beat together on medium speed the butter, both sugars, honey, vanilla, instant coffee, and salt until smooth and a bit fluffy. Beat in the vinegar, egg, baking soda, and baking powder for 2-3 minutes. Then stir in the flour. Just before the flour is combined, stir in the chocolate chips.

Scoop the cookies onto your baking sheets. A Tablespoon-sized scoop will yield about 3 dozen cookies. Bake the cookies for 10-13 minutes, until the bottoms are lightly browned. Allow them to cool for 10 minutes before transferring them to a rack to cool completely.

Share Your Thoughts

