Mixed Bag (Part 3): Popcorn, Potatoes, and Pstuffing

Yeah, not really Pstuffing, but when you have popcorn and potatoes already in the title, it seems better that way. These dishes were all….okay. I liked them, but not sure if I loved them. Let’s start with the Pstuffing…okay, stuffing.

IMG_3117

The stuffing was a modified version of the Pioneer Woman’s recipe. Her recipe made a whole bunch of stuffing, and we had a small group for Thanksgiving (when I made this), so I halved it. I also left out the cornbread since K and I aren’t huge fans. Well, the chewy bread seemed a bit too chewy for me, and the softer bread was soggy, even after stale-ing them/toasting them in the oven. K liked the chewy bread texture, but it wasn’t my favorite. I liked the flavor of the stuffing, and it was simple to make. The bread choices are where I had difficulty. And maybe I should have used less liquid? She wasn’t super clear in the recipe for how much to use.

IMG_3111

IMG_3114

Maybe I would make this again but use much less liquid and broil it a bit?

For the next dish I am sharing today, I liked it a bit more. It’s a twice-baked potato recipe. I changed it slightly, but my main reason for not loving it more is I wasn’t a big fan of spinach in the filling. It seemed, again, to make the dish a bit soggy. Broccoli would have been better. Or less spinach.

2015-12-13

There is bacon, cheese, green onion, spinach, and mushrooms in this. I also liked that you top it with more green onion and bacon, and a cooked egg.

IMG_3200

Doesn’t that look yummy? It was basically a breakfast version of a twice-baked potato.

And now for our dessert…popcorn!

IMG_3179

Start with some lightly salted popcorn…

IMG_3181

Toss with some toasted almonds, then drizzle melted chocolate (I used candy coating) and caramel on top…

IMG_3183

Yummy, yes? I even added some candy…peppermint M&Ms and chocolate chips.

IMG_3185

My issue was the caramel…I think. I think the caramel made the popcorn a bit chewy, taking away some of the crunch. Not bad, but it sticks in your teeth a bit more, and I like my popcorn crunchy.

These are all recipes I would make again, but modify a bit. Is there one that intrigues you? One that you would maybe try? Suggestions you have?

Share Your Thoughts

