Stay Up All Night Cookies

One of my all-time favorite cookies from my all-time favorite Mom. My mom would make these, mostly around Christmas, and she got the recipe from her grandmother who helped raise her. One of the few recipes I have been passed down since my mom wasn’t the best at writing down most of her recipes (boo). Thankfully I have these to help remember baking with her in the kitchen.

IMG_3136

I actually made these for the Fudgelet’s first birthday party. I thought it was funny since he keeps waking up at night (still), so “stay up all night” it is!

IMG_2502

When I made them this summer, they turned out really flat and I didn’t know what I messed up …but I figured it out pretty quickly after. Basically, I didn’t add the sugar soon enough. I rewrote the directions to make it a bit more clear, and then made them again to make sure that was the problem. Clearly it had been too long since I had made them last! K isn’t a big meringue cookie fan, but I love the slightly crunchy slightly chewy texture. One of my friends ended up loving these cookies, too, so I made sure to make her one specifically for her…

IMG_3128 IMG_3133

And this time? No problems with the height of the cookies!

IMG_3126

I doubled the recipe since I had 4 egg whites to use up. Doubling gave me about 30 cookies.

IMG_2497 IMG_3124

Normally I just use mini chocolate chips, but the bigger ones can work okay too. I still prefer the mini ones, so see what your preference is.

Directions for Stay Up All Night Cookies

  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 2 egg whites, room temperature
  • 2/3 cup sugar (superfine if you have it)
  • pinch of salt (not kosher)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment. In your mixer, on medium speed, beat together the cream of tartar and the egg whites. As it gets foamy, slowly add the sugar while the mixer is still beating, but turn the speed to low while you are adding it to keep it from making a mess.

IMG_2498 IMG_3118 IMG_3119

Increase the speed back to medium, and then beat until the mixture is glossy.

IMG_3121

Add the salt and vanilla, then beat until stiff peaks form.

IMG_2499 IMG_3123

At this point, you can take the whisk or a spatula and gently fold the chocolate chips into the mixture.

IMG_2501 IMG_3125

Drop balls (as big as you like…my size 20 scoop made about 15) onto the baking sheet(s) and place in the oven.

IMG_3127

IMG_3128

Turn the oven off, and keep the trays in there for at least 6 hours or overnight to dry the cookies out completely.

IMG_3131

IMG_3134

Directions for Stay Up All Night Cookies (without pictures)

  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 2 egg whites, room temperature
  • 2/3 cup sugar (superfine if you have it)
  • pinch of salt (not kosher)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment. In your mixer, on medium speed, beat together the cream of tartar and the egg whites. As it gets foamy, slowly add the sugar while the mixer is still beating, but turn the speed to low while you are adding it to keep it from making a mess. Increase the speed back to medium, and then beat until the mixture is glossy. Add the salt and vanilla, then beat until stiff peaks form. At this point, you can take the whisk or a spatula and gently fold the chocolate chips into the mixture. Drop balls (as big as you like…my size 20 scoop made about 15) onto the baking sheet(s) and place in the oven. Turn the oven off, and keep the trays in there for at least 6 hours or overnight to dry the cookies out completely.

One thought on “Stay Up All Night Cookies

  1. Pingback: Rainbow Meringue Cookies | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

