Homemade Cinnamon Chips

My dad was coming to visit me, and I was preparing him some treats. He requested scones, and I said I could also do a pie. Both are recipes I have made multiple times before. The scones, less so because I haven’t made the cinnamon ones as often, but I still have made many scones. After looking back at the recipes to see what ingredients I needed, I decided to make a couple changes. For starters, I don’t know what happened, but I was supposed to share a different cinnamon scone recipe on here. I don’t even know which one that was, so I guess it will have to remain undefined. I also mentioned making cinnamon chips, but never showed them. I also didn’t make them with shortening last time. They turned out a bit more firm/crunchy with shortening. Last time, I believe I used butter or oil and it was a chewier chip.

IMG_2933

Anyway, I am here to show you these chips because 1) They don’t always have cinnamon chips easily available at the stores all year long, and 2) These taste much more like cinnamon than those, anyway. Although, I haven’t tried King Arthur Flour’s chips, so maybe theirs are ok? Let me know if you have.

IMG_2925

Directions for Homemade Cinnamon Chips

Slightly adapted from Bright-Eyed Baker

  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 Tablespoons shortening
  • 2 Tablespoons corn syrup
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees and prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper (yes, parchment this time since you will want to cut on it). Mix all of the ingredients together with your hands until combined.

IMG_2924

Spread the mixture on the parchment in an even layer, about 1/4 inch thick.

IMG_2926

I did mine a bit thinner, but then they will be more crisp. Bake for about 35 minutes until it has darkened a bit.

IMG_2927

Allow to cool completely, then use a knife, pizza cutter, or your hands to break up the layer into pieces, as big as you would like them.

IMG_2929

IMG_2931

Directions for Homemade Cinnamon Chips (without pictures)

Slightly adapted from Bright-Eyed Baker

  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 Tablespoons shortening
  • 2 Tablespoons corn syrup
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees and prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper (yes, parchment this time since you will want to cut on it). Mix all of the ingredients together with your hands until combined. Spread the mixture on the parchment in an even layer, about 1/4 inch thick. I did mine a bit thinner, but then they will be more crisp. Bake for about 35 minutes until it has darkened a bit. Allow to cool completely, then use a knife, pizza cutter, or your hands to break up the layer into pieces, as big as you would like them.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Cinnamon Chips

  1. Bravo to you for making your own cinnamon chips and very interesting on shortening vs. butter. Do you end up just munching the batch away, like I imagine? 😉
    Hope all is well with you and the family. Happy Holidays!

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Buttermilk Cake | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

