No-Churn Ice Cream: Chocolate and Coffee Versions!

So, I finally got around to making no-churn ice cream. I haven’t had much time for making dessert recently, but we also haven’t needed much since we’re still getting through cake, toffee, cookies, and other treats. We really haven’t needed ice cream since we have had an endless cycle of: the grocery store gives me a coupon for ice cream, I use the coupon…they give me another coupon, we get more ice cream….blah blah blah. Buuuut, it was near the end of summer and we were already getting some dark, rainy days. I wanted to get my last summer feelings by making this. And yes, I am sharing this a couple weeks later, so maybe you’re not in the mood. But maybe you are? Maybe you miss summer? Or maybe you’re excited that you don’t need to touch a frozen ice cream churner bowl to make ice cream? That was exciting for me. I also liked that it is no-cook, so I could make it while the Fudgelet played, and it didn’t require constant monitoring.

IMG_2657

The first go-round, I made a coffee ice cream. K actually thought it was a regular ice cream when he tasted it, and then later said it reminds him of soft-serve. I still think that is a success. One warning with this style of ice cream….the alcohol you add gets really strong, really quickly. At least, that’s what I found. It’s not much, so it is still fine to use with people who don’t like alcohol (like myself), but it does have a strong flavor.

IMG_2656

I then followed the coffee with a chocolate ice cream. This one did not have extra alcohol, but the vanilla extract provided a dose of it just the same. The chocolate flavor was a bit mild, so I think I might try adding more cocoa powder next time.

IMG_2655

Directions for No-Churn Chocolate or Coffee Ice Cream

  • 1/2 can (2/3 cup) sweetened condensed milk
  • 1.25 cups heavy cream (to be honest, 1 cup would be fine if you wanted to use a pint container and make a double batch)
  • 2 Tablespoons vanilla extract or Kahlua (depending on chocolate or coffee flavor)
  • 2 Tablespoons cocoa powder or instant coffee (again, depending on chocolate or coffee flavor)

Dump everything into your mixer bowl and with the whisk attachment, beat for about 5 minutes on medium speed until soft peaks form. Scrape down the bowl to make sure everything is well-mixed. If you miss the soft peaks and get to stiff peaks, it should still be fine (it happened to me). Pour into a freezer-safe ice cream container and freeze overnight (if you wait only a few hours, it will be like soft-serve).

IMG_2651

IMG_2661

IMG_2652

IMG_2653

IMG_2658

Share Your Thoughts

