Topic-Changing Thursdays: The Fudgelet Enjoys Parties

As mentioned previously, we had a mini party for the Fudgelet’s first birthday, and then a bigger one with friends. Both were after a family one in Maryland. The family one was a hybrid July 4th/Birthday party. And the Fudgelet didn’t get any cake that day. I know, sad sad. But, I figured if he had waited this long, he could wait a little longer and have a special cake with ingredients I knew. Since he wasn’t quite 1 year while we were in Maryland, and I hadn’t received the “all-clear” from the doctor on foods yet, I wanted to wait. Since then, we have received the “eat all the foods” (except choking hazards) comment, which means that the Fudgelet has had all sorts of treats since. I’ve made him grilled cheese, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches…. and we are trying to work in other new foods, too. He has been a little picky with his solid foods lately. As in, not wanting much of any of them right now, so we have to cross that hurdle first.

DSC06545

 

I decided to save the friend party pictures for another post when I hope to share some food recipes from it. For today, it is our simpler family party.

On his actual birthday, we did the usual monthly photoshoot. He was walking and moving all over the place. I also discovered my camera had been in the wrong mode for over a month, and that’s why it was taking pictures more slowly than usual. Oops.

DSC06701-001

We did presents once K got home from work.

DSC06759

As with most kids, he was just as fascinated by the packages as the gifts initially.

DSC06771

He even enjoys the cards.

DSC06812

But definitely was interested in his new toys, too.

DSC06840

Then, we did cake before his dinner. Why not. You only turn 1 once. 🙂 I made the cake over a couple days. I started by making the Momofuku Milk Bar’s Barely Brown Butter Cake. Then, I made a Swiss Meringue Buttercream frosting and turned it into cookies and cream for the filling.

IMG_2420

I cut two small circles of cake for him and left the rest for K’s birthday cake.

IMG_2421

IMG_2423

It wasn’t perfectly even, but I didn’t really care much for a “smash” cake.

IMG_2427

Doing a crumb coat in the cookies and cream frosting wasn’t my best idea ever, but it was tasty. It made the final coating a bit tricky.

IMG_2428

 

 

IMG_2431

 

And then it was time to celebrate….

DSC06899

DSC06929

He ended up being a fan.

DSC06987

DSC06994

DSC06999

DSC07012

He tried to share the cake with us, but ended up just rubbing it on our faces and shirts, haha.

DSC06972

Stay tuned for pictures from our friend party!

2 thoughts on “Topic-Changing Thursdays: The Fudgelet Enjoys Parties

Share Your Thoughts

