Tips-y Tuesdays: Slow Cooker Chili

Today I am sharing something I made that turned out mostly well. Next time, I would use less liquid, and scale back the recipe a bit since I think I needed a 6 quart crockpot for the amounts given. But, it was still tasty, so I am sharing the main tips from it today…

IMG_1768

IMG_1767

For any slow cooker recipe, make sure to only fill the pot 2/3 to 3/4 of the way. Otherwise, it won’t cook as well. If need be, scale back the recipe, or maybe you can reduce the liquid. For this particular recipe, it was much more liquidy than I normally like my chili. So, knowing this, I should have removed some. It also meant that my slow cooker was a bit full…it made for a mess later. Oops.

IMG_1769

This recipe worked well with ground beef. We also enjoyed having it with some tortilla chips or crackers. Even better if you have cheese crackers. Mmm.

WP_20150204_015

For this particular recipe, a neat trick was using grated sweet potato to make the dish sweet but next time I think I would just dice it. Grating it took way too long for me, and I don’t think dicing would affect it much. I also think I would break up the meat a bit before adding it into the pot, and potentially brown it. I know the recipe creator says you don’t need to, but I think it would help the flavor.

The recipe came from one of my favorite YouTube channels: What’s Up Moms. You can find the recipe here on their webpage.

3 thoughts on “Tips-y Tuesdays: Slow Cooker Chili

  1. One slow-cooker trick I’ve learned is that if you want to make sure something is cooked after 3-5 hours make sure it goes in there hot. This looks great!

  2. Pingback: Chili with Bacon | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

