Tips-y Tuesdays: Double Pie Crust Pot Pie

Recently I made a quiche with a new pie crust recipe I was trying out. There was some extra dough, so I decorated the edges a bit…

IMG_2029

I used some new animal cookie cutters I have been wanting to use. They turned out really cute!

IMG_2030

Unfortunately, when I went to bake the crust, this happened…

IMG_2036

Poor elephants. It still made a tasty crust for the quiche.

IMG_2040

This crust was the first time I ever used shortening. I liked the flakiness, so I decided to try again with it, but to make a double crusted pot pie.

IMG_2025

IMG_2027

IMG_2071

IMG_2072

I made sure to keep it extra chilled this second time. I also didn’t bother freezing the butter or shortening like I did the first time. It made the food processor hard to use.

IMG_2073

I made the dough, then made the filling, and kept them both chilled. When it came time to bake, I assembled the pie while the oven preheated to 400 degrees. Once I placed the pie in the oven, I reduced the heat to 375 degrees. Then, I baked it for about 1.5 hours until the crust was nice and brown on top.

IMG_2074

IMG_2075

There was a lot of filling…

IMG_2076

IMG_2078

IMG_2080

My biggest problem with pot pie is always how to serve it so that it stays intact.

IMG_2083

After all this, it tasted delicious, but K and I decided we prefer single crusts. It was almost too much crust for the filling for us. But, you can decide for yourselves.

3 thoughts on “Tips-y Tuesdays: Double Pie Crust Pot Pie

  1. Pingback: Chicken Pot Pie Galette | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

