Quick Cheesesteak Subs

Today is my Dad’s birthday! I have been treating him to desserts each month for a few years now, but unfortunately I have been slacking this past year. It’s been harder than I realized to send treats 1) when I’m a new mom, 2) when I don’t visit home very often now, and 3) when there are snow storms that delay treats you do send. So, I am truly sorry, Dad, and hope to do better this year. It has also been crazy how fast the months have gone by. I’ve been trying to set more of a routine for myself each week so that I can fit in my chores and tasks more easily. I had an old routine pre-Fudgelet, and now I need to make a new one. I’ll keep you posted on how it goes. 😉

IMG_1575

In honor of my dad’s birthday, I am sharing with you this sub which is delicious, and reminds me of him because of where he went to college. He took our family to his college town when I was a kid and I remember him getting a little teary-eyed seeing me on the stairs in one of the college buildings. At the time, I said I wanted to be a civil engineer, just like him, and follow all of his footsteps. Well, I ended up becoming a math teacher who moved across the country. Again, I’m sorry, Dad. Maybe he’ll let me make this for him the next time he visits? I know my stepmother M won’t be a fan (no meat and cheese together), but I am betting I could just make a portion without the cheese and still have everyone happy.

You might remember that I have already shared a cheesesteak recipe on here. That one is a make-ahead recipe which works well for planning. That one was also tasty. This one might be just a bit tastier, and it wins on the “I want cheesesteaks for dinner” command without having to prep something ahead of time. For both recipes, I recommend toasting the rolls in the oven at 200 degrees for about 10 minutes.

Directions for Quick Cheesesteak Subs

 Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen 

  • ¾ to 1 pound flank steak, sliced thinly (recommend freezing slightly to help with slicing)
  • Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • ¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • About 5 slices white cheese (cheddar, American, provolone, etc.)
  • Sub rolls

 

Put some oil in a 12-inch nonstick skillet and heat it over medium heat. Meanwhile, chop the meat even more to get tiny slivers of meat.

IMG_1566

IMG_1567

Season with salt and pepper. When the oil is sizzling, drop in the meat (in batches) to brown it. Let it sit to brown evenly for about 3-4 minutes, then stir and let it cook for another minute or two.

IMG_1568

When both batches are done, add the meat all back into the skillet and spread it out. Turn the heat to low.

IMG_1570

Sprinkle the Parmesan cheese on top, then spread out the cheese slices so that they overlap.

IMG_1571

Let it sit for a minute or two until the cheese is mostly melted. Then, stir the cheese into the meat.

IMG_1572

 

Serve on the sub rolls (makes 2 huge subs or 4 modest ones).

IMG_1576

Directions for Quick Cheesesteak Subs (without pictures)

 Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen 

  • ¾ to 1 pound flank steak, sliced thinly (recommend freezing slightly to help with slicing)
  • Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • ¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • About 5 slices white cheese (cheddar, American, provolone, etc.)
  • Sub rolls

Put some oil in a 12-inch nonstick skillet and heat it over medium heat. Meanwhile, chop the meat even more to get tiny slivers of meat. Season with salt and pepper. When the oil is sizzling, drop in the meat (in batches) to brown it. Let it sit to brown evenly for about 3-4 minutes, then stir and let it cook for another minute or two. When both batches are done, add the meat all back into the skillet and spread it out. Turn the heat to low. Sprinkle the Parmesan cheese on top, then spread out the cheese slices so that they overlap. Let it sit for a minute or two until the cheese is mostly melted. Then, stir the cheese into the meat.

Serve on the sub rolls (makes 2 huge subs or 4 modest ones).

2 thoughts on “Quick Cheesesteak Subs

  1. Yum! Looks great! I didn’t know you were a math teacher?! My dad was a math teacher before he retired and I am very math-y as well. Love girls who don’t fear math. Girl power!

    • Yes for women in math! 🙂 When I moved out to this coast, I became a tutor just to keep working with students. It was fun, but it did make me miss having a classroom.

Share Your Thoughts

