Topic-Changing Thursdays: The Fudgelet is 8 Months Old!

Tomorrow is the Fudgelet’s big 8 Month mark. This means we have made it 2/3 of the way to toddlerhood. That. Is. Crazy. I guess I feel a bit wiser about some things. But at the same time, I can’t say I will remember all of this wisdom even a year from now. Some parts are so natural right now, but who knows how it would feel with a different baby. I don’t know if I would ever feel comfortable watching someone else’s baby. I know so much about mine, but that’s it. How are other babies when they are hungry, tired, or need a hug? I have no idea. Did you know I never changed a diaper before the Fudgelet’s? Yeah, no baby experience here, other than holding my nephew and having him pee on me once. Haha! (I might remind you of that when you are older, nephew, or I might not since you are super sweet and I wouldn’t want to make you upset.)

DSC01740

So, what’s new this month, you ask?

The Fudgelet and I have been bonding extra amounts this month. Between extra warm weather/weird weather changes/winter germs/etc., we have both been fighting the sniffles for this month. This means we haven’t seen too many other people since we prefer keeping our sniffles to ourselves. It does mean we get a bit stir-crazy. We have visited so many different food stores this month, just to go see new places. Maybe I pay an extra 20 cents for my milk that way, but at least it’s a change of pace.

DSC02307

Speaking of food, the Fudgelet has still been experiencing new flavors. Mostly still purees, but we have been experimenting with a mesh teether. Some foods (like pears) he has preferred eating as a chunk instead of a puree. I’ve still been nervous about just giving him food whole, so this is a nice compromise. He can’t choke, and I can watch him feed himself.

DSC01650

He is still talking up a storm. He generally only does this when he his happy and comfortable, so it is a good way of knowing he is okay. He has also still been sitting pretty. It has been fun to walk around the house, put him down in a spot while I do something like fold laundry, and know that he is happy because he can look around. Now he has started learning how to get from sitting to all fours, so I have to keep watch.

DSC01898

Previously, he had only been sitting on the carpet, but I’ve started moving him to the kitchen and other surfaces for him to touch and feel. He likes banging on the kitchen floor because it sounds different.

DSC02413

We recently moved his playmat upstairs to make room for new toys, but he still enjoys playing with it.

DSC02010

Now that he is on all fours a lot more, he has started moving in both directions.

DSC02221

DSC02355

But he also has discovered that it is comfortable to rest like this on occasion.

DSC01951

That is usually a signal to me that he is ready for naptime.

DSC02341

The weekends have been great because we have had lots of warm, sunny weather, and we have K take us out on the town. He loves spending time with his Dad. K has been trying to teach him how to high-five.

DSC02251

He also tends to babywear him when we go out so that I can get a break from holding him. Although I’m usually right there saying I miss holding him, haha.

DSC02060

The Fudgelet still gets a kick out of buzzing his lips…

DSC02336

and standing.

DSC02433

DSC02139-001

By next month, he might be fully crawling for all I know. And adding more letters to his sounds. For now, we’re trying to share more new places and events with him, like swinging!

WP_20150309_014

And touching grass for the first time!

WP_20150306_048

Stay tuned for more Fudgelet shenanigans.

WP_20150304_006

Update: He is crawling and received his first haircut (just a little trim at home). My little baby is getting big!!

Second update…here is something K created to show the Fudgelet both in action, and his new haircut. šŸ™‚

anim_c60209b2-feaf-7024-611f-231352ea4c84

6 thoughts on “Topic-Changing Thursdays: The Fudgelet is 8 Months Old!

  1. He is so sweet. I love hearing what he’s up to and seeing all the cute pictures! He’ll be a year old before you know it and you’ll wonder where the time went. My grandson just turned 22 last week! How did that happen???

  2. Pingback: Friday Favorites 5 | fudgingahead

  3. Pingback: Topic-Changing Thursdays: The Fudgelet is 9 Months Old! | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

