Homemade Granola with Almonds

I used to make granola, back when I ate yogurt because it was supposed to be good for me. But then I realized that yogurt either had too much sugar, used fake sugar, or was way too sour for me. Soooo, I gave up on my granola making. Since then, I’ve eaten lots of different kinds of cereal, but never been entirely pleased with any of them. The ones I liked the most tended to be pricey, and it was a pain to wait for sales when I was running low. I found a post where someone made granola with applesauce to replace some oil. I thought that was such a neat idea, so I decided to try making granola again. This time, I would add almonds since I discovered how much I liked them in other cereals I was eating.

IMG_1565

You can feel free to swap in different nuts, etc. For my dried fruit, I have been using cranberries and raisins, but I am thinking about trying something else besides cranberries since I just realized they are not really giving me much nutritional benefit. Maybe dried blueberries for a bit of iron? We’ll see. Anyway, I like having a bit of chewy fruit with my crunchy granola. The sunflower seeds are an added crunch, but I have made the granola without them and still liked it.

Depending on how much you eat, this granola can definitely keep for 2 weeks (which is how long until I eat it all). I thought about doubling the batch, but it already fills two baking trays, and uses a big bowl. Making more at a time would be difficult for me, so I decided to be okay making it every two weeks.

The pictures below are from the first time I made it. Since then, I have swapped to two baking sheets. Using one is doable, but the granola will not get very crunchy. I also have learned to stir it while putting the bowl on top of one of the lined baking sheets. This way, if any oats/etc. spill over, they just end up on the baking sheet.

Oh, and one final tip. If you like your granola in clusters, leave it on the tray to cool…don’t stir it at all. If you like it more crumbly, then remove it before it cools completely. But don’t seal it in a container until it is cool to keep it crispy.

Directions for Homemade Granola with Almonds

  • 5.75 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 2 cups raw sliced almonds
  • ¼ cup sunflower seeds (optional)
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup (4 ounces) unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • ¼ cup canola oil or coconut oil
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • ½ cup dried fruit (raisins, cranberries, etc.)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and prepare a large baking sheet (you can also split the mixture onto two baking sheets–recommended!). In a large bowl, stir together the oats, almonds, sunflower seeds, brown sugar, cinnamon, ground ginger, and salt.

IMG_1563

In a small saucepan, heat together the applesauce, honey, and oil.

IMG_1562

When smooth and runny, stir into the almond mixture with the vanilla. Then, spread the mixture onto the baking sheet(s) and bake for about 35-45 minutes.

IMG_1564

The granola should be a medium brown color. Then, sprinkle the dried fruit on top, and stir together. Store in an airtight container, but keep the lid off until the granola cools to keep it crunchy.

Directions for Homemade Granola with Almonds (without pictures)

  • 5.75 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 2 cups raw sliced almonds
  • ¼ cup sunflower seeds (optional)
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup (4 ounces) unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • ¼ cup canola oil or coconut oil
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • ½ cup dried fruit (raisins, cranberries, etc.)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and prepare a large baking sheet (you can also split the mixture onto two baking sheets–recommended!). In a large bowl, stir together the oats, almonds, sunflower seeds, brown sugar, cinnamon, ground ginger, and salt. In a small saucepan, heat together the applesauce, honey, and oil. When smooth and runny, stir into the almond mixture with the vanilla. Then, spread the mixture onto the baking sheet(s) and bake for about 35-45 minutes. The granola should be a medium brown color. Then, sprinkle the dried fruit on top, and stir together. Store in an airtight container, but keep the lid off until the granola cools to keep it crunchy.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Granola with Almonds

Share Your Thoughts

