Baltimore Bomb Pie (Bergers Cookie Pie)

I decided to start off your year perfectly for your New Year’s plans. Earlier this week was ice cream and today we have pie. And not just any pie, but one with Bergers cookies. AKA, some of the best cookies ever. Unfortunately, you can only find them in Baltimore (unless you order online). There is a King Arthur Flour recipe for them, but as a native Baltimorean, I can tell you that the recipe is not good. I tried it, and it didn’t taste like the cookies at all. Not even like the generic store brand version of them. Talk about a disappointment. Well…I love to freeze packs of them and save them. Unfortunately, sometimes I save them for too long. Then, throwing them into a dessert is a perfect way to still enjoy them, but not feel like I am wasting them. I hadn’t made this pie before because I didn’t want to waste the cookies. But, I had a package of ones that were past their prime. So, here we go! I also had 4 egg yolks that needed to be used. Since I had just made ice cream recently, I wanted to try to make something new.

IMG_1542

This is a very sweet pie. I cut down the sugar a bit from what it was, but it will still be sweet. If you don’t have access to the cookies, feel free to throw in some other chocolatey cookies. Or make the King Arthur ones, and don’t feel bad about “wasting” them. 🙂

IMG_1538

As far as the name of the recipe, this pie originally is from a local pie place in Baltimore. I’ve never had the pie, but have wanted to try it. This isn’t the prettiest pie, but it is tasty.

IMG_1543

So, you might be wondering how this pie helps with any resolutions. Well, I think that people should resolve to enjoy life as much as possible. Enjoying life means spending time with family and friends, doing things you like, spreading happiness, etc. So, if you enjoy pie, I encourage you to make this and spread happiness by sharing it!

Directions for Baltimore Bomb Pie

Slightly adapted from My Man’s Belly

  • Pie crust
  • 1 egg
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 Tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 2/3 cup heavy cream
  • 6 Tablespoons butter, cut into Tablespoon-sized pieces
  • About 4 Bergers cookies (about 8 ounces worth), chopped into 1/2 inch-sized pieces
Bake your pie crust at 375 degrees until lightly browned (about 10-15 minutes).
IMG_1529

Not the best looking crust I’ve made, but I thought I had a crust in the freezer. Turns out I didn’t, so I had to hurry up and make this, then ran short on time for baking it. Oh well. It still tasted good once filled!

Then preheat the oven to 275 degrees. In a heatproof bowl, whisk together the egg, egg yolks, both sugars, salt, and cider vinegar until no yellow streaks remain.
IMG_1530
IMG_1532
Then whisk in the heavy cream.
IMG_1533
Prepare a medium saucepan with simmering water to act as a double boiler. Scatter the pieces of butter in the bowl, then place the bowl over the water. Gently whisk until the filling is warm to the touch. The butter will not be completely melted.
IMG_1534
Remove from the the saucepan and stir in the Bergers cookies. Pour into the pie crust.
IMG_1535
Bake for 55 minutes. Then, for the last few minutes, up the temperature to 350 degrees and allow the top to brown a bit. Turn the pan to evenly brown it. The pie will still be a bit jiggly. Let it cool completely before serving.
IMG_1536

Directions for Baltimore Bomb Pie (without pictures)

Slightly adapted from My Man’s Belly

  • Pie crust
  • 1 egg
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 Tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 2/3 cup heavy cream
  • 6 Tablespoons butter, cut into Tablespoon-sized pieces
  • About 4 Bergers cookies (about 8 ounces worth), chopped into 1/2 inch-sized pieces
Bake your pie crust with pie weights at 400 degrees until lightly browned (about 10 minutes with foil, then an extra 15-20 without the foil). Then preheat the oven to 275 degrees. In a heatproof bowl, whisk together the egg, egg yolks, both sugars, salt, and cider vinegar until no yellow streaks remain. Then whisk in the heavy cream. Prepare a medium saucepan with simmering water to act as a double boiler. Scatter the pieces of butter in the bowl, then place the bowl over the water. Gently whisk until the filling is warm to the touch. The butter will not be completely melted. Remove from the the saucepan and stir in the Bergers cookies. Pour into the pie crust. Bake for 55 minutes. Then, for the last few minutes, up the temperature to 350 degrees and allow the top to brown a bit. Turn the pan to evenly brown it. The pie will still be a bit jiggly. Let it cool completely before serving.
4 thoughts on “Baltimore Bomb Pie (Bergers Cookie Pie)

  1. I may be the only person from Maryland that doesn’t like Berger cookies…at all! But then I don’t have a sweet tooth and these things are sweet; the top is liberally smeared with thick chocolate icing. If you like sweets, you will be in heaven eating these cookies any way you can get them. I’ve never seen them in a pie before. Novel idea!

  2. Did I miss why your pie crust is celebrating Mardi Gras? I could eat your whole pie right this minute, and as you might be able to guess from my last post talking about being annoyed with get-clean-type resolutions, I LOVE yours about enjoying life.

Share Your Thoughts

