Chocolate and Peanut Butter Lovers

I’ve mentioned before that having help from people is awesome when you are both preparing to have a baby, and after the baby arrives. Someone that’s helped a lot is my friend Melissa. I’ve known Melissa for a little while now since our husbands work together. Unfortunately, we have always lived a little ways away from each other, which makes it tricky to visit. Add two kids to the mix, and it should be harder, but somehow we have hung out more since each having a kid. And it definitely has been great for me, because it gives me a chance to learn from her and see where the Fudgelet will be in another year or so. (Getting more sleep, ideally! Haha.) Melissa has shared knowledge, but also shared lots of food! She gave us meals which helped after my dad and M left. And, because she is so thoughtful, she even included dessert! There was a cake (how did she find time to make us several meals and dessert with her toddler!?) but also chocolate and peanut butter cookies, specifically for me.

IMG_1401

 

IMG_1456

We got together around Halloween (I think I’ve mentioned before how far behind I am with sharing things on here–oops!) and decided to bake something. I was being scatterbrained (see: lack of sleep) so I told her she should pick a recipe. She ended up finding a peanut butter brownie recipe which sounded delicious! It required a little more time than we would have, so she made the brownie part ahead of time, allowing us to finish the toppings together. K gave me a hard time about it being chocolate and peanut butter because he thought I had made her do it. It turns out, she has the same love of that combo as I do! The other thing I found out that day is we enjoy the same cooking blogs. She has shared different recipes with me, and I usually recognize the blog or cookbook. It’s nice to find people who share similar food tastes. (Miss you, Lisa!) I also discovered that Melissa reads my blog. Like, actually reads it and remembers things from it. I am honored, and hope this is a post she reads–hi, Melissa!

Anyway, back to the food. I liked the brownies we made so much, that I made them again, although with a few changes. Around the same time that we made the brownies, I also made some cookies for a Halloween party I was going to. I didn’t really change anything for that recipe, so I will just share the cookies. They belong with this post since they are a version of Peanut Butter Blossoms. Basically, you can take your basic Peanut Butter Blossom recipe and use a truffle (like the Lindt kind) in place of a Hershey kiss, and then use some melted chocolate and sugar eyes to turn it into a spider! Very cute, and very yummy.

IMG_1395

My only suggestion is to sacrifice one or two truffles to make the little divots for the truffles (they will melt from the heat), and then maybe use tweezers for the eyes?

IMG_1398

I had trouble keeping them from getting covered in chocolate. You can use any kind of chocolate truffles for it. I actually used both dark and milk chocolate, and enjoyed both, so use your favorite.

IMG_1390

IMG_1391

IMG_1394

Do you see the one with the eyes I put on the wrong way? I had to eat him. (mwahaha)

Do you see the one with the eyes I put on the wrong way? I had to eat him. (mwahaha)

The Fudgelet joined me for the cookie making, as well as hung out with us for the brownies…

IMG_1387

For the brownies, the original recipe called for peanut butter cups on top. As much as I love peanut butter cups, I decided that I actually preferred the brownies without the cups. Basically, I like a dark chocolate ganache, and this made the peanut butter cups taste too sweet. So, I left them out. I also like my brownie recipe more than the original. The original recipe is a cross between a cakey and fudgy brownie, and I prefer fudgy (duh, see: name of blog).

This is the original recipe.

This is the original recipe.

Directions for Chocolate and Peanut Butter Brownies

Adapted from Seriously Delish

  • 9 x 13 pan of brownies
  • 1 cup (16 Tablespoons) peanut butter
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted (optional to sift, but I think it makes the texture smoother)
  • 8 ounces dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream

Over low heat in a medium saucepan, melt the peanut butter and coconut oil.

IMG_1444

When smooth, stir in the powdered sugar.

IMG_1446

Spread this evenly over the brownies.

IMG_1447

Place the brownies in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes.

IMG_1448

Heat the heavy cream in the microwave until hot (about 1-2 minutes). Meanwhile, place the chocolate in a heatproof bowl. Pour the hot cream on top of the chocolate, whisking until smooth. If necessary, pop the whole bowl back in the microwave for small bursts to help melt the chocolate.

IMG_1449

When it is smooth, spread over the top of the peanut butter layer.

IMG_1450

IMG_1451

Allow to cool to room temperature, or place in the refrigerator to speed it up.

IMG_1452

Cut and serve!

IMG_1455

Directions for Chocolate and Peanut Butter Brownies (without pictures)

Adapted from Seriously Delish

  • 9 x 13 pan of brownies
  • 1 cup (16 Tablespoons) peanut butter
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted (optional to sift, but I think it makes the texture smoother)
  • 8 ounces dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream

Over low heat in a medium saucepan, melt the peanut butter and coconut oil. When smooth, stir in the powdered sugar. Spread this evenly over the brownies. Place the brownies in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes.

Heat the heavy cream in the microwave until hot (about 1-2 minutes). Meanwhile, place the chocolate in a heatproof bowl. Pour the hot cream on top of the chocolate, whisking until smooth. If necessary, pop the whole bowl back in the microwave for small bursts to help melt the chocolate. When it is smooth, spread over the top of the peanut butter layer. Allow to cool to room temperature, or place in the refrigerator to speed it up. Cut and serve!

8 thoughts on “Chocolate and Peanut Butter Lovers

  1. I see nothing wrong with any of their cute little eyes, but if that’s the excuse you need to chow down, go for it! šŸ™‚ Yum as usual!

  2. I love chocolate & PB together. Those brownies look insane and I love the truffle-topped cookies, too! The baby is growing so fast! Happy holidays to you and your family! And your friend sounds so thoughtful…we all need people like that in our lives.

  3. Pingback: Black and White Cheesecake | fudgingahead

  4. Pingback: Skillet Cookie, Two Ways | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

