Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

I make lots of cookies. In fact, I have made tons of cookies in the last couple months. To the point that K commented on it. I apologized that I can’t make some of my fancier desserts anymore. Or at least at the moment. Or so I thought…but then I made a cake and all was right with my baking world again. 🙂 But, there is nothing wrong with cookies. I figure it helps to have a few dozen good cookie recipes by the time the Fudgelet reaches elementary school and bake sales are all the rage. I want to be that mom with the awesome desserts. The one the other moms are slightly jealous of, but only slightly because they realize I am definitely not the coolest mom. I am aiming for sweetest, I suppose. Even in school, I was never the coolest. Back in Maryland, many of my students thought I used to be a cheerleader. I made sure to tell them that I was far too into my studies to have had time to be popular. I was the orchestra/drama/math/writing/bookworm nerd. And I am quite proud of it!

IMG_1150

Now, back to these cookies. They confused me. I decided to try to make a crispy cookie since mostly I make soft cookies. I do enjoy a good crunchy cookie sometimes, so I thought these would do it. Well, I even tried baking them longer than the recipe said, but there is no way they are “thin and crispy” as advertised. So, if you manage to make them thin and crispy, I’d love to hear about it. In the meantime, I enjoyed that they were almost like a Soft Batch cookie. Not as much as another recipe I will share later, but close.

Directions for Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies (originally Thin and Crispy)

Slightly adapted from Cook’s Illustrated Baking Book 

  • 1.5 cups flour
  • ¾ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 8 Tablespoons (1/2 cup) butter, melted and cooled
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tablespoons milk
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and prepare baking sheets.

Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt. With a stand mixer and the paddle attachment, beat together the butter, both sugars, and corn syrup on low speed until thoroughly blended (1 minute).

IMG_1138

Add the egg, milk, and vanilla, mixing until smooth (1 minute).

IMG_1139

 

IMG_1140

Scrape down the bowl as needed, then still on low, add the flour mixture.

IMG_1141

 

IMG_1142

Just before it is combined, add the chocolate chips and stir by hand to make sure no flour pockets remain.

IMG_1143

Drop balls of dough onto the baking sheets and bake for about 12 minutes.

IMG_1146

The cookies will turn lightly brown, but remain soft.

IMG_1149

Cool completely before serving.

IMG_1147

Directions for Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies (originally Thin and Crispy) (without pictures)

Slightly adapted from Cook’s Illustrated Baking Book 

  • 1.5 cups flour
  • ¾ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 8 Tablespoons (1/2 cup) butter, melted and cooled
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tablespoons milk
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and prepare baking sheets.

Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt. With a stand mixer and the paddle attachment, beat together the butter, both sugars, and corn syrup on low speed until thoroughly blended (1 minute). Add the egg, milk, and vanilla, mixing until smooth (1 minute). Scrape down the bowl as needed, then still on low, add the flour mixture. Just before it is combined, add the chocolate chips and stir by hand to make sure no flour pockets remain.

Drop balls of dough onto the baking sheets and bake for about 12 minutes. The cookies will turn lightly brown, but remain soft. Cool completely before serving.

3 thoughts on “Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites 4 | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

