Topic-Changing Thursdays: Making Food You Can Buy

Starting back at the last school where I taught, I was teased for making food you can easily buy at the store. Obviously you can buy cupcakes, brownies, etc., but those make sense for people to make. People see those treats as easy and homey. Besides, maybe you want a variety of cupcake you can’t find at the store. Maybe you like to add fillings to your cupcakes, or something. Anyway, there are definitely two groups: foods that people see as the type you might make at home and foods you buy. What do you include in the latter category? 

IMG_0937

I made two things in the above picture. One I’ve mentioned on here before, and one I haven’t. Well, until now.

The foods I was teased about included crackers (which I need to make again because they were tasty!) and marshmallows. I actually need to make more marshmallows, too. They are amazing homemade. And that’s part of it for me. Often, foods you might buy at the store are okay, but their homemade versions are so much better.

Are there certain foods you make that you know you could buy more easily? Or foods that you would like to learn to make that you currently buy?

I have another odd food I’ve made that most people would just buy. At least nowadays. I plan on making it again with the Fudgelet when he’s a bit older because it almost seems like magic. What is it?

BUTTER!

Yep, I made butter. And because I made it at home, I made it a bit more special by making it honey butter. Just a bit of honey mixed in with some salt to make it a nice sweet and salty butter. Perfect for some fresh bread. The bonus to making butter, and the reason that pushed me over into trying it at home, is that you also get buttermilk. I think that’s pretty cool!

So, how do you make butter?

Well, you start by taking heavy cream (I used 2 cups of heavy cream, and it made 1 cup butter–aka 2 sticks–and 1 cup of buttermilk) and whirring it in a food processor.

IMG_0915

It takes a couple minutes, but it will go from liquid, to fluffy peaks, to a curdled mixture that has separated.

IMG_0916

 

IMG_0917

You want to strain out the liquid (this is the buttermilk) with a mesh strainer until you have gotten as much of the liquid out as possible.

IMG_0918

IMG_0919

Then, process the solid part again with a couple tablespoons of ice water.

IMG_0920

At this point, you can add it mix ins, like honey and salt.

IMG_0921

Then, form it into whatever shape you like (I made a log) and chill it until ready to use. Wrap it and store it tightly in clear wrap. It won’t keep as long as store-bought butter, so plan on using it within the week (or freeze it to make it last a bit longer).

Here is what it looked like:

IMG_0922

 

2 thoughts on “Topic-Changing Thursdays: Making Food You Can Buy

  1. So cool! I’ve never made butter (or even thought of making it, but I’m kicking myself for being so blind to the potential). Recently I learned to make my own sausages, and my own ravioli. I love the ravioli when you do it yourself — so much springier and you can make super cool fillings. But ravioli is certainly WAY easier to buy!

    • I agree with the ravioli–definitely fun to make different fillings, but certainly easier to buy. I loved your sausage post! I’m interested in trying it at some point, but probably not when I have a baby to worry about. 😉

Share Your Thoughts

