Spraypainting Pumpkins

Growing up, carving pumpkins meant that I did pick out a pumpkin I liked at the patch (after riding on a hayride), and then drew a face on it with a marker. I was also responsible for cleaning out my own pumpkin guts. My dad would do the actual carving. I didn’t even know about the stencils/etc. that people use. We just did the basic triangle eyes, nose, and sharp teeth. Apparently there is a whole world of pumpkin design out there.

IMG_1318

This year, I didn’t even think about pumpkin picking. Luckily, some of my friends (also with babies) arranged a get-together where we could go pumpkin picking with the little ones. Because we have a little one, and because we were going pumpkin picking just this past weekend, I knew I wouldn’t have the time or energy for proper carving. Instead, I saw the idea of spraypainting a pumpkin on the internet, and then decided to try it myself.

I’ve never spraypainted before, so I decided it would be a good idea to start with a small pumpkin. Then, I realized that a small pumpkin would work well for a baby. And then I realized how fun it could be to make one for each of us. So, I found 4 different mini pumpkins, and got crafty.

I began by making sure the pumpkins were clean. Then, I used a pencil to lightly sketch out my design (in this case, the first letter of each of the babies’ names).

IMG_1312

With some tape (painter’s tape would be best, but I only had masking tape) I marked off the area.

IMG_1313

Then, I put on gloves and did a couple layers of gold. If you have the time, I would recommend doing the top, then letting it dry the full amount before worrying about the bottom.

IMG_1314

Since I have to work during the Fudgelet’s very short naps, I decided to not worry too much about the bottoms since the pumpkins would be sitting anyway. Once the pumpkins were fully dry, I removed the tape and used a permanent marker to fill in my design.

IMG_1315

IMG_1316

And yes, the initials in our group spell out a word…

IMG_1322

2 thoughts on “Spraypainting Pumpkins

  1. Pingback: Topic-Changing Thursdays: Felt for Fall | fudgingahead

  2. Pingback: Topic-Changing Thursdays: The Fudgelet’s Second Halloween | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

