Guest Cooks: Teriyaki Chicken

About two months ago, when my dad and M were visiting to help us with the Fudgelet, they made us lots of meals. They had certain dishes they felt comfortable making, and then they decided to branch out and try some new things. I actually am proud of them for expanding their horizons when they visit us. We’ve gotten them to try a few new places they wouldn’t have even considered previously (and they really liked them!), and also some new food. Because we couldn’t easily go out with the baby, most of the experimenting this time was with recipes.

IMG_1063

I was going to share more about their visit, but I’m leaving that for Thursday with a special post.

K and I had thought about redoing my beef teriyaki with chicken sometime. They decided to try it this visit. You can follow the same recipe on the beef teriyaki page, but just swap in some chicken. We also changed it by cutting the chicken into small pieces at the start, unlike the beef.

When they made the recipe, I asked if they could document it for the blog, since I had wanted to make it myself and now I could taste it without doing any work! These pictures are all ones they took during the process.

IMG_1043

My dad chooses to use scissors to cut the chicken thighs. He said they can be more precise for trimming and cutting than a knife. Good tip if you have had trouble using a knife for this job!

IMG_1044

IMG_1045

There was much meat cutting.

IMG_1047

And sauces/marinades to be made…

IMG_1048

 

Don’t you like the measuring spoon below? I hadn’t used them before but had them in the drawer. So, my guest chefs were trailblazers for these spoons.

IMG_1049

Cooking the chicken…

IMG_1052

IMG_1055

More sauces…

IMG_1057

Then finishing the chicken in the sauce…

IMG_1059

And serving!

IMG_1060

 

They even cooked asparagus the way I do it

IMG_1050

IMG_1051

IMG_1053

IMG_1056

And in case you were wondering…they really did take pictures of everything. Just in case. Including the ingredients they needed…

IMG_1041

The cutting board setup I use for raw meat…

IMG_1040

 

And their device for following the recipes…

IMG_1042

Thank you, you two, for the pictures and hard work!

Share Your Thoughts

