Make-Ahead Cheesesteak Subs

Bonus post this week! You have all been so patient with my two-posting ways. This week you get a third post, and I think it’s pretty awesome. I asked for this cookbook for my birthday, and this is the first recipe I’ve finished from it. I have two others prepared, so stay tuned. I actually made this ahead, then made it ahead again. Some people dropped by with food the day I made this, so I saved it. During the middle of the night, after a feeding when the Fudgelet would not go back to sleep, I put him in the Ergo and shredded the meat. The next day, I heated up the meat in the broth over the stove. It was easy, and still really tasty!

IMG_1110

Even the prep part of this recipe is something you could do with a baby around. No major meat cutting, and pretty simple freezing. It turned out so tasty, too! I didn’t follow the directions exactly. They wanted me to freeze the cheese and bread. I figured (correctly) that we could just buy some fresh around the time we wanted it. No biggie.

Directions for Make-Ahead Cheesesteak Subs

Adapted from Fix, Freeze, Feast 

Note: This recipe makes 3 separate entrees.

Prep Ahead

  • 6 pounds beef suitable for slow cooking
  • 6 teaspoons beef bouillon (I use Better than Bouillon)
  • 3 cups water
  • 6 large green bell peppers, cut into strips
  • 3 large onions, cut into strips

Trim the beef, then cut it into 3 equal pieces. Place each piece of beef into a gallon-sized freezer bag. Add to each bag 2 teaspoons of bouillon and 1 cup water. Seal the bags. Evenly divide the pepper and onion slices into quart-sized freezer bags.

IMG_0772

Day of Meal

  • Cheese of your choice (Gouda, Cheddar, Swiss, etc.)
  • Sub rolls
  • Oil

Dump one bag of beef and broth into the slow cooker (no need to thaw ahead). Cook on low for 5-6 hours. Remove the beef from the broth, and shred it into smaller pieces.

IMG_1103

Add back to the broth.

IMG_1104

Meanwhile, heat some oil in a skillet and saute the onions and peppers until soft and lightly browned.

IMG_1105

IMG_1107

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. You can either just toast the bread, or assemble the sub (cheese on one side of roll, or on top of the beef) and heat it in the oven as long as you desire.

IMG_1106

The broth can be used for dipping or poured on top of the beef in your roll.

IMG_1108

Directions for Make-Ahead Cheesesteak Subs (without pictures)

Adapted from Fix, Freeze, Feast 

Note: This recipe makes 3 separate entrees.

Prep Ahead

  • 6 pounds beef suitable for slow cooking
  • 6 teaspoons beef bouillon (I use Better than Bouillon)
  • 3 cups water
  • 6 large green bell peppers, cut into strips
  • 3 large onions, cut into strips

Trim the beef, then cut it into 3 equal pieces. Place each piece of beef into a gallon-sized freezer bag. Add to each bag 2 teaspoons of bouillon and 1 cup water. Seal the bags. Evenly divide the pepper and onion slices into quart-sized freezer bags.

Day of Meal

  • Cheese of your choice (Gouda, Cheddar, Swiss, etc.)
  • Sub rolls
  • Oil

Dump one bag of beef and broth into the slow cooker (no need to thaw ahead). Cook on low for 5-6 hours. Remove the beef from the broth, and shred it into smaller pieces. Add back to the broth.

Meanwhile, heat some oil in a skillet and saute the onions and peppers until soft and lightly browned. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. You can either just toast the bread, or assemble the sub (cheese on one side of roll, or on top of the beef) and heat it in the oven as long as you desire. The broth can be used for dipping or poured on top of the beef in your roll.

5 thoughts on “Make-Ahead Cheesesteak Subs

  1. So I need to introduce you to Gyro Bob. Gyro Bob would pull in a little camper and set up shop between midnight and 2:00AM Wed-Sat on the bar strip of Kent State University, where I completed my undergrad. Most folks went for the Gyros. Why wouldn’t you from Gyro Bob? However, I knew the secret. And that secret was his cheesesteak. I always got it with extra hot sauce. I spent countless early mornings talking with bob as his fares dripped down the front of my shirt. His failed business plans. His stints in prison. His many female admirers. To this day I still have no idea what was BS and what’s wasn’t.

    Anyway, at least a few times a Month I try to explain to Jo how great his fresh bread, greasy steak, and mayo concoction was.

    I miss Gyro Bob.

  2. Pingback: Quick Cheesesteak Subs | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

