Tips-y Tuesdays: Re-purposing Meals

It’s been a while since I last shared a Tips-y Tuesday post. Today is partially inspired by my attempts to get ready for Little FudgingAhead. This is not food intended for him, but us parents have to be well-fed, too. I decided to take my short rib recipe and double it to save some for leftovers. I didn’t want to make it as I first did, though, because that meal involved a bit more work than I might want down the road. So, I decided to make it a bit more classic. So classic, that K wants us to have it with noodles next time like a beef soup. So, we made a note on the bag that it should be heated in that way. And I’m also proud of us for using a freezer bag! We’re really trying to get into this whole hoarding food thing, and knowing the best ways to label and store food for later.

IMG_0733

As I said, I made some changes. This included adding some mustard with the wasabi, omitting the pepper, but adding red pepper flakes. I also added more meat since I was trying to have a decent amount of leftovers. This meant upping the broth a bit, and adding a bit of water to help. K said I could have used less liquid, but it just means we have more beef base to use for a soup.

IMG_0716

 

The rest of the steps remain the same…

IMG_0717

IMG_0718

IMG_0719

IMG_0720

After all of those hours…

IMG_0726

IMG_0727

IMG_0728

Shredding the meat…

IMG_0729

And then another difference…this time I served it with mashed potatoes!

IMG_0730

4 thoughts on “Tips-y Tuesdays: Re-purposing Meals

  1. Freezing food for baby was such a help! Although while Mike was off on paternity leave I didn’t use much of it. It’s when he went back to work and folks stopped dropping off food that I dug into my stash. I found a website that listed like 10-15 crockpot freezer meals. No cooking beforehand, just dump all the ingredients into a bag, label and when you are ready to use thaw a bit and add to crockpot. A few had you add stock when you cook but that was all. They turned out really well!!

    • Yeah, I figure I won’t need my freezer meals until September or so because we’ll have live-in cooks. 🙂 And even then I might be up for some cooking, and K will help, too.

  2. Great re-invention of leftovers! I never used to appreciate leftovers until a couple of years ago. Now I realize so many things freeze so well and the convenience of opening up the fridge or freezer and seeing almost ready-to-eat meals is pure joy! I am getting too dramatic about leftovers. Mine are never done so creatively as you…I need to work on that.

Share Your Thoughts

