Green Mango Chutney

Because it is the first Friday post I’ve had in awhile, we’re keeping it simple. I’d never bought a mango before, so I thought (at first) that a green mango meant an unripe one. I didn’t realize there are different kinds of mangoes. So, you know, learning something new each day and all that. Luckily, I picked the right kind. I definitely did not cut it the fancy way you see some people do, but it was much easier to peel than I expected. The peel basically came right off as I started cutting, so I just worried about cutting the fruit into cubes. As you can see below, they weren’t perfectly cubed, but I was rushing a bit. I also ended up adding too much water (follow what I wrote, not necessarily the amount of water you see in the pictures!) in my rush, which meant I had to pour some out later. Oh well. It still ended up tasty! Basically, it’s like a sweet and tangy chutney because the mango is sweet, and the vinegar with the savory ingredients gives it a little bit of pucker. I’m not a mango fan normally, but I enjoyed this, especially with the rest of the dish.

IMG_0342

 

The mango chutney is right below the bread on the top left. You could make the chutney ahead and then have it cold or warm it before serving. We liked it warm best, but it was still okay chilled.

As I mentioned earlier this week, the hummus recipe can be found here and the full dish is getting shared on Monday. Enjoy your weekend!

Directions for Green Mango Chutney

Adapted from Pomegranates and Pine Nuts

  • 1 green mango, chopped into ½ inch cubes
  • ¼ inch piece ginger, minced
  • ½ teaspoon minced garlic
  • ½ teaspoon turmeric
  • Pinch red pepper flakes
  • 2 Tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons honey
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 cup water

Stir everything together in a medium pan over medium heat.

IMG_0320

Cover and bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to low and simmer for 20-30 minutes with the lid ajar.

IMG_0322

The mango will be soft and liquid should evaporate. It will still be runny.

IMG_0331

Directions for Green Mango Chutney (without pictures)

Adapted from Pomegranates and Pine Nuts

  • 1 green mango, chopped into ½ inch cubes
  • ¼ inch piece ginger, minced
  • ½ teaspoon minced garlic
  • ½ teaspoon turmeric
  • Pinch red pepper flakes
  • 2 Tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons honey
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 cup water

Stir everything together in a medium pan over medium heat. Cover and bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to low and simmer for 20-30 minutes with the lid ajar. The mango will be soft and liquid should evaporate. It will still be runny.

Share Your Thoughts

