Topic-Changing Thursdays: Gardens and Gardening

Gardening was something I helped with growing up. I would be okay until I found my first worm of the year, or maybe just got a little too dirty. I’m still not a big fan of playing near worms or getting dirty, but I’ve improved a bit. Now, living in Seattle, the ickiest part is seeing slugs everywhere in spring. And all kinds. Bleck!

DSC05664

I manage to ignore them mostly, though, and I’ve planted a good bit since moving to our house last year (just over a year here, now!). The previous owner had a nice assortment of plants, which meant that we get to see flowering plants from spring through fall. Last year, I tried to keep things more simple because I wasn’t sure what plants were already in the yard. This year, I knew a bit more and decided to add more flowers.

DSC05680

DSC05674

DSC05656

I’m hoping to eventually have a vegetable garden on the side of the house (we have a dirt patch which would work well because it gets shade and sun).

IMG_7284

 

This chive returned from last year...complete with a pretty flower!

This chive returned from last year…complete with a pretty flower!

Trying some basil again...

Trying some basil again…

We held off this year because it is an unnecessary expense while we are preparing for a baby. I doubt I will have much time to take care of the garden this year, so maybe next year! As it is, I feel bad that I can’t help with the mowing. I basically am out of commission for the whole season of lawn mowing! Last year I ended up doing most of it, even though I’d never used a motorized lawn mower before.

Blueberry bush from my parents' house

Blueberry bush from my parents’ house

We used to have blackberry bushes growing up, and then added blueberry and raspberry.

We used to have blackberry bushes growing up, and then added blueberry and raspberry.

One of my favorite plants to have in the yard is a hydrangea. I wanted one at our old place, but there wasn’t enough room. My mom loved them, and I even used them as my wedding bouquet, in memory of her.

I had to share this picture because it shows where I put on this dress...it was in the confessional room of the church.

I had to share this picture because it shows where I put on this dress…it was in the confessional room of the church.

It was one of the first plants I bought when we moved in here. We’re lucky because hydrangeas grow really well in our area. I’m even luckier because we already had three of them here from the previous owner, and I just didn’t see them right away!

DSC05683

Now we have four, and eventually I might plant more.

The one I bought!

The one I bought!

From my parents' house

From my parents’ house

100_8889-1

100_7223

I think my dad is surprised at how much more lawn work I’ve been doing, but part of it is feeling responsible for keeping the yard looking nice. That responsible feeling keeps me going, even past the icky dirt. 🙂

The first place I bought...the backyard

The first place I bought…the backyard

There was a rose bush at my old house, and I never had to do anything. It took care of itself!

There was a rose bush at my old house, and I never had to do anything. It took care of itself!

We also enjoy visiting gardens, and rediscovered one nearby we hadn’t gone to for a while.

It has different gardens, like this alpine/mountain one.

It has different gardens, like this alpine/mountain one.

 

We just discovered this is how lilacs grow from this garden, and then we found them at our house!

We just discovered this is how lilacs grow from this garden, and then we found them at our house!

DSC05637

DSC05581

It’s a nice size, not too big so you can stroll all of it in an afternoon, but also not too small that it feels like a waste. To top it off, it’s free! We’re planning stroller visits next year (or maybe late summer this year). Since moving here, I really enjoy having so many parks and gardens we can visit. I wish they all could be free, but at least some are.

Another free park nearby

Another free park nearby…this photo was taken several years ago 🙂

Some more flowers I like:

100_72081

DSC05595

100_7327

 

I planted some dahlias to come up later this summer…hopefully they do because they are one of my new favorite flowers!

DSC00114

3 thoughts on “Topic-Changing Thursdays: Gardens and Gardening

  1. Rats. Some kids were fundraising today selling seedlings and I chose the mini apple tree instead of the dahlia because I didn’t know what it was! After seeing your picture I’m jealous that you’re going to have some and I’m not!

  2. Pingback: Lobsters Scream when You Boil Them

Share Your Thoughts

