Tips-y Tuesdays: Birthdays

Today is my dad’s birthday! I think I can give him partial credit for this blog because I have made a bunch of recipes I wouldn’t have made if it wasn’t for him. Irish Soda Bread is one that I definitely wouldn’t have felt up for. He’s so important to my baking, that he has a whole section on here of recipes I have made for him. You might say that there aren’t that many there, compared to some of my other categories. But, my dad has a weakness for certain recipes. As a result, he gets lots of duplicates throughout the year.

I’ve mentioned it here before, but my dad’s birthday present from me (and K who helps substantially with packing the food–if you ever receive a package from me, it’s likely that he packed it) has been the same for a few years now. Each month he gets a treat. He doesn’t know which treat will arrive each month, but he does give me a list to choose from each year. I always ask if he wants to continue his subscription. I think as long as the cost is the same, he is fine remaining signed on. Haha. Or Hehe (small inside joke with him and M).

Oh, have I mentioned M? She is my stepmother and was a big part of this post. She also gets to share some of the treats, but she doesn’t get to pick the list. Luckily, she has some of the same loves as my dad. Here is the list I received from last year:

  • Choc chip cookies
  • Carrot cake muffins
  • Banana Walnut bread
  • PB Choc chip blondies
  • Soda bread
  • Choc chip cookies
  • Apple crumb pie
  • Coffee cake
  • Scones (various)
  • Rice krispie brownies
  • Blueberry muffins
  • Choc chip cookies

Do you notice any trends in that list? Yeah. He is a cookie monster, which must be where my brother got it from.

So, back to the tips part of the post today. You might have people that are hard to shop for, but you love dearly. There are different food/wine/etc of the month clubs which are nice, but sometimes quite expensive or not quite possible. (Since my dad lives in Maryland, the wine idea was one we liked but couldn’t do.) By creating my own “of the month” club, I might still be spending a bit (especially now that most boxes get shipped instead of brought in person) but it doesn’t feel like wasted money because I get to create the item that gets shipped.

So, this is meant to remind you of something you could do for someone. Maybe you are able to avoid shipping your gifts, or maybe you have something else you can make. I know a bunch of crafty friends who could probably send cool artwork, sew something, or do an assortment. Maybe you could create a “Treat of the Month” club where your loved one gets something small each month that you create or find. Just to spread the birthday love throughout the year.

What are gift ideas you keep on hand for people?

We will often do gift cards (easy to ship) if we need to, but K prefers sending items. I recommend having lists (on your phone or computer) to jot down ideas as you get them. This way, even if it is nowhere near the person’s birthday, you can remember good ideas you had. My family also shares gift idea lists with each other. Apparently not everyone likes that (K) but it works for us, most of the time.

Another idea came to me from my friend Joanna with her post yesterday…if you have kids, you should totally use them to help with gift giving. I can’t do that just yet, but I am filing it away for future use. 😉

So, …. I want to wish a happy birthday to my dad and I will be back tomorrow with another recipe for you!

2 thoughts on “Tips-y Tuesdays: Birthdays

  1. I’m sure your Dad loves all the goodies you send during the year! Great idea! Still can’t get over that we were born not only the same day but the same year!

Share Your Thoughts

