Brownies with an Oat Crust and Marshmallows

Breathe a sigh of relief! After making the latest batch of brownies for my dad, I am officially back in chocolate craving mood. Not a pregnancy craving, just straight up normal Aly eating. Yay! I knew I wanted something chocolatey but could not tell what I was in the mood for. I thought about buying some more ice cream bars (they had been my favorite treat at night to help with the nausea, satisfy my dairy cravings, and just general happiness), but then realized I wanted something I could really bite into and chew.

IMG_9965

IMG_9966

At first I ruled out brownies since I had made them recently. Then I ruled out cookies because I had made them a bunch recently as well. I thought about making a cake because I had some leftover frosting but decided against it because I didn’t have time with my work schedule. In the pantry I found a chocolate granola bar which was tasty and decided I was in the mood for something like these bars but wanted to make something new. And I was still kind of craving brownies. I came across a brownie recipe with an oat crust in my Taste of Home Baking Binder. I wasn’t a big fan of the recipe as written, so I decided to do my own version. Originally I was going to top these with the leftover vanilla frosting, but it really wasn’t necessary. Instead, I have these fudgy (but not dense) s’more-like brownies. Their crust is crunchy, but still with a bit of chocolate.

These took about an hour from start to finish (I am a bit slow getting ingredients together). They smelled great while baking, and tasted good while watching tv that night. Win! (They also tasted good the next morning. And the next night….you get the point.)

IMG_9968

Directions for Brownies with an Oat Crust and Marshmallows

Oat Crust

  • 40 g flour
  • 1/2 stick (1/4 cup) melted butter
  • 90 g oats (quick-cooking or old-fashioned, not instant)
  • 100 g brown sugar
  • 1 g (1/4 teaspoon) kosher salt
  • 1 g (1/4 teaspoon) baking soda
  • 4 g cocoa nibs (optional, or use mini chocolate chips)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and prepare an 8×8 square baking pan with foil. Stir together all of the ingredients except for the nibs.

IMG_9950

Add the nibs at the end.

IMG_9951

Then, press the mixture into the base of the baking pan.

IMG_9952

Bake for about 10 minutes, then remove from the oven. Keep the oven at 350 degrees for the brownies.

Brownie Layer

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter
  • 2 ounces semisweet chocolate
  • 135 g granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk, room temperature
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 80 g flour
  • 1 g (1/4 teaspoon) kosher salt
  • 1 g (1/4 teaspoon) baking soda
  • 2/3 cup mini marshmallows

In a double boiler, melt together the butter, chocolate, and sugar.

IMG_9954

Continue stirring until the mixture is smooth.

IMG_9956

Remove from the heat and let cool for a few minutes. Meanwhile, stir together the flour, salt, and baking soda in a bowl.

IMG_9955

Mix the milk, eggs, and vanilla in a different bowl. Pour the milk mixture into the chocolate bowl. Stir quickly until incorporated.

IMG_9957

Then, gently stir in the flour mixture.

IMG_9958

When the flour is almost incorporated, stir in the marshmallows.

IMG_9959

Pour the batter on top of the oat crust.

IMG_9960

Bake the brownies for 25-30 minutes until the edges pull away from the sides of the pan. The insides will still be soft.

IMG_9964

Cool to room temperature before cutting and serving.

IMG_9961

Directions for Brownies with an Oat Crust and Marshmallows (without pictures)

Oat Crust

  • 40 g flour
  • 1/2 stick (1/4 cup) melted butter
  • 90 g oats (quick-cooking or old-fashioned, not instant)
  • 100 g brown sugar
  • 1 g (1/4 teaspoon) kosher salt
  • 1 g (1/4 teaspoon) baking soda
  • 4 g cocoa nibs (optional, or use mini chocolate chips)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and prepare an 8×8 square baking pan with foil. Stir together all of the ingredients except for the nibs. Add the nibs at the end. Then, press the mixture into the base of the baking pan. Bake for about 10 minutes, then remove from the oven. Keep the oven at 350 degrees for the brownies.

Brownie Layer

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter
  • 2 ounces semisweet chocolate
  • 135 g granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk, room temperature
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 80 g flour
  • 1 g (1/4 teaspoon) kosher salt
  • 1 g (1/4 teaspoon) baking soda
  • 2/3 cup mini marshmallows

In a double boiler, melt together the butter, chocolate, and sugar. Continue stirring until the mixture is smooth. Remove from the heat and let cool for a few minutes. Meanwhile, stir together the flour, salt, and baking soda in a bowl. Mix the milk, eggs, and vanilla in a different bowl. Pour the milk mixture into the chocolate bowl. Stir quickly until incorporated. Then, gently stir in the flour mixture. When the flour is almost incorporated, stir in the marshmallows. Pour the batter on top of the oat crust. Bake the brownies for 25-30 minutes until the edges pull away from the sides of the pan. The insides will still be soft. Cool to room temperature before cutting and serving.

4 thoughts on “Brownies with an Oat Crust and Marshmallows

Share Your Thoughts

