Fish Tacos

We really do like tacos in this house. We hadn’t had them for awhile, but I wasn’t in the mood for more chicken, or even for beef. I wanted shrimp, but since I’m supposed to limit them right now, I decided to go with a white fish I am allowed to have in moderation. Yay! It was something new for us, and it ended up as a light meal that was still filling. I made my usual tortillas, adding in some dill this time. We also did our usual sides and discovered that my mini food processor works super well for guacamole. In fact, K said that is the only way to make it from now on. For our salsa, we had some fresh pineapple on hand and decided to mix it up a bit. We combined chopped tomatoes, salt, pepper, dried chopped onion (you could use raw), cilantro, and chopped pineapple into my new favorite salsa. It was amazing! Sweet, which paired really well with the savory tacos. I also loved the guacamole with the salsa.

IMG_9930

A close-up of the salsa:

IMG_9926

IMG_9932

Directions for Fish Tacos

  • 1 pound white fish
  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons white or rice wine vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon lime juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
  • Pepper (I used a lemon and pepper seasoning mix I have)
  • 1 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • Oil or butter

Mix together all of the ingredients except for the fish.

IMG_9918

Place the fish in a shallow bowl. Pour and rub the marinade on top of the fish. Keep in the refrigerator for about 1-2 hours prior to cooking.

IMG_9919

In a cast iron skillet or other heavy bottomed skillet, place some oil or butter.

IMG_9922

Brown the fish on each side, cooking through.

IMG_9927

Shred the fish in the skillet with a spatula.

IMG_9923

Set aside if you are cooking in batches.

I poured in the marinade and let it cook to form a bit of a sauce.

I poured in the marinade and let it cook to form a bit of a sauce.

When done, serve with tortillas, salsa, etc.

IMG_9929

Directions for Fish Tacos (without pictures)

  • 1 pound white fish
  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons white or rice wine vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon lime juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
  • Pepper (I used a lemon and pepper seasoning mix I have)
  • 1 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • Oil or butter

Mix together all of the ingredients except for the fish. Place the fish in a shallow bowl. Pour and rub the marinade on top of the fish. Keep in the refrigerator for about 1-2 hours prior to cooking.

In a cast iron skillet or other heavy bottomed skillet, place some oil or butter. Brown the fish on each side, cooking through. Shred the fish in the skillet with a spatula. Set aside if you are cooking in batches. When done, serve with tortillas, salsa, etc.

6 thoughts on “Fish Tacos

  1. Yum! Love fish tacos. And shrimp tacos. And pretty much all tacos. It’s been glorious eating what I want again. I’ve had drippy, dunky, sunny side up eggs every day for practically a week!!

    I need to start making our own guac, we all love it so much. Maybe when summer is here and I can grow fresh cilantro to have on hand.

Share Your Thoughts

