My Favorite Fudgy Brownies

It has now been two years of posting on this blog. It’s a little hard to believe, but at the same time I have had many experiences along the way to make enough memories to fill the time. So, this will make my 324th post (my 323rd since this first one here). I actually forgot I was having a “blogiversary” until I saw Tortillas and Honey post hers! I started thinking about when mine was, and realized it was just a couple weeks away. Last year, I did a giveaway along with some goals for the year. I accomplished all of them except for the first one I listed. Not bad, considering it was puff pastry dough. Technically I’ve used the dough, and I’ve made croissants, but I would still like to make it from scratch. I haven’t felt up for super buttery things, so maybe that will have to wait.

IMG_9874

 

I made these brownies so that I could make this favorite of mine, so there is no picture of the plain brownies cut up. You will have to take my word for it that they are amazing. Or, you know, you could make them yourself!

 

Instead of making goals this year, since I don’t know what lies ahead for me, I am going to make a list of things I have learned since I started blogging. Just about cooking, though. The other stuff would fill a book. 🙂

What I Have Learned from Blogging and Cooking

  1. Practice can make perfect, but freak luck can be handy, too.
  2. I was never meant to be a food stylist.
  3. It’s okay to go back and repeat recipes, or do different versions.
  4. Measuring with a scale can actually be easier than using regular measuring tools
  5. I’ve gotten better with re-purposing leftovers.
  6. How to pick a ripe pineapple (I recently helped some strangers at the store, go me!)
  7. The food blog world is very different from the real world of food.
  8. Make a recipe a few times before serving it for guests–this helps with nerves and getting distracted!
  9. Having cold hands is an asset for baking
  10. I’ve gotten better with knowing the best times to add salt. (I used to avoid adding it in most dishes.)
  11. How to best line a pan with foil (fold the foil over the pan while it is upside down, then turn the pan right side up and place the foil inside)

IMG_9864

 

IMG_9866

I know I’ve learned more, but that’s what I can come up with for now. Inspired by what I have learned, I am sharing my favorite brownie recipe, but with most of the measurements in grams since it allows me to dirty fewer dishes. (Yay!) It’s not really “my” recipe, but after the first time I made it, I’ve never gone back to any other recipe. It’s that tasty (in my opinion).

Directions for Fudgy Brownies

Slightly adapted from King Arthur Flour

  • 465 g sugar
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 4 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 85 g cocoa powder (Dutch processed)
  • 2 g kosher salt
  • 5 g baking powder
  • 2 g instant coffee
  • 220 g flour
  • 2 cups (12 ounces) mini chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a 9 x 13 baking dish. In a medium saucepan on low heat, stir together the sugar and butter.

IMG_9859

Continue stirring every so often until the butter is melted and the sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat.

IMG_9865

 

 

Meanwhile, stir together the eggs, vanilla, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder, and instant coffee.

IMG_9862

Stir until completely smooth.

IMG_9863

Then, pour in the melted butter/sugar mixture. Again, stir until smooth.

IMG_9868

Gently stir in the flour, but do not incorporate it fully.

IMG_9869

Wait for about 10 minutes, then add the mini chocolate chips. Stir until there are no more flour pockets.

IMG_9871

Spread in your baking dish and

IMG_9872

bake for about 20-22 minutes until the brownies begin to pull away from the edges of the pan. They will still be a bit gooey. Wait to cut them until they have cooled completely.

IMG_9873

Directions for Fudgy Brownies (without pictures)

Slightly adapted from King Arthur Flour

  • 465 g sugar
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 4 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 85 g cocoa powder (Dutch processed)
  • 2 g kosher salt
  • 5 g baking powder
  • 2 g instant coffee
  • 220 g flour
  • 2 cups (12 ounces) mini chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a 9 x 13 baking dish. In a medium saucepan on low heat, stir together the sugar and butter. Continue stirring every so often until the butter is melted and the sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat.

Meanwhile, stir together the eggs, vanilla, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder, and instant coffee. Stir until completely smooth. Then, pour in the melted butter/sugar mixture. Again, stir until smooth. Gently stir in the flour, but do not incorporate it fully. Wait for about 10 minutes, then add the mini chocolate chips. Stir until there are no more flour pockets.

Spread in your baking dish and bake for about 20-22 minutes until the brownies begin to pull away from the edges of the pan. They will still be a bit gooey. Wait to cut them until they have cooled completely.

 

14 thoughts on “My Favorite Fudgy Brownies

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites 3 | fudgingahead

  2. Pingback: One-Pot Brownies | fudgingahead

  3. Pingback: Cream Cheese Brownies | fudgingahead

  4. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cup Swirl Brownies | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

