Buttermilk Drop Biscuits

I’ve made buttermilk biscuits in the past. I even made a version of this recipe before, but I didn’t share it because it didn’t turn out completely right. Basically, I used buttermilk powder instead of buttermilk. It did not work in this recipe, so don’t make that substitution. Okay, so after making some fried chicken and ice cream, I still had some leftover buttermilk. No, it’s not weird at all. I bought the big container partially because I thought I needed it, and partially because it is a much better deal. So, I decided to try this recipe again. We woke up hungry for brunch one morning, so I decided to make egg sandwiches on these biscuits. I love Egg McMuffins and all, but I can’t eat ham right now so I decided to do my own breakfast sandwich. I was also disappointed when we went to Denny’s and they had a limited breakfast sandwich selection. It was either with ham and all sorts of crazy stuff, or with egg whites and turkey bacon. Bleck. I wanted a normal egg sandwich. I ended up making my own there, too (ordered a make my own grand slam with a buttermilk biscuit, eggs, and sausage to stack them together).

IMG_9798

 

Alright, back to these biscuits. Because I was hungry when I made them, I can tell you that they don’t take very long to throw together. If they had, I would have been super cranky. You do need to use buttermilk, but you could also make it with milk and vinegar. You also can make smaller biscuits, but since I wanted them for egg sandwiches, I made them pretty large. I mention that the melted butter on top of the biscuits is optional because it supposedly adds to the flavor, but I don’t think the biscuits need it. Especially if you plan on eating them with something like eggs, or if you plan to butter up the insides anyway.

Directions for Buttermilk Drop Biscuits

Slightly adapted from America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking

  • 10 ounces flour (2 cups)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk, cold
  • 8 Tablespoons (1/2 cup) butter, melted and slightly cooled, plus 1 more Tablespoon to be melted for brushing later (optional)

Preheat the oven to 475 degrees. Prepare a baking sheet.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, and salt.

IMG_9790

In the same bowl as the melted butter, pour in the buttermilk and stir.

IMG_9792

The mixture should begin to get clumpy like cottage cheese.

IMG_9793

Then, stir the clumpy mixture into the dry ingredients until just combined and the dough begins to come away from the sides of the bowl.

IMG_9794

Scoop and drop mounds of the dough onto the baking sheet, spacing them apart.

IMG_9795

Bake for about 12-15 minutes until the tops are golden brown. Brush the baked biscuits with the remaining melted butter, then allow to cool for a few minutes before serving.

IMG_9797

Directions for Buttermilk Drop Biscuits (without pictures)

Slightly adapted from America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking

  • 10 ounces flour (2 cups)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk, cold
  • 8 Tablespoons (1/2 cup) butter, melted and slightly cooled, plus 1 more Tablespoon to be melted for brushing later (optional)

Preheat the oven to 475 degrees. Prepare a baking sheet.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, and salt. In the same bowl as the melted butter, pour in the buttermilk and stir. The mixture should begin to get clumpy like cottage cheese. Then, stir the clumpy mixture into the dry ingredients until just combined and the dough begins to come away from the sides of the bowl.

Scoop and drop mounds of the dough onto the baking sheet, spacing them apart. Bake for about 12-15 minutes until the tops are golden brown. Brush the baked biscuits with the remaining melted butter, then allow to cool for a few minutes before serving.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Buttermilk Drop Biscuits

  1. Love buttermilk biscuits…or pretty much any breads or biscuits. Don’t make them often because I want to eat all of them and they just don’t taste as wonderful reheated. Now I want a biscuit….

Share Your Thoughts

