Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Buttermilk Ice Cream

One thing I need to work on is taking better ice cream pictures. Half the time I forget until I go to blog about a recipe. And at that point I usually am not in the mood for scooping out ice cream just for a picture. It’s not that I don’t care for you guys. I do. I am sure you want to see a yummy scoop of ice cream. I’m sure it would help sell you on the recipe. But….it’s not my favorite part of blogging. Some blogs have tons of finished pictures. For me, I enjoy the cooking part, and I enjoy the tasting part. Sharing pictures of the steps is fun because I generally remember to do it as I go. If I don’t remember, I can usually count on K to remind me, too. When it comes to the end, I just want to eat the food! Haha. The other part with ice cream is it is generally late at night when I eat it, and I am not in picture-taking mode. So, maybe I will get better with it. But maybe not. Just trust me that this cookie dough stuff is pretty good, especially in the buttermilk ice cream.

IMG_9789

Now, I know vanilla is usually the norm for cookie dough, but it takes a bit more time to make than buttermilk ice cream, and I happened to have buttermilk on hand. If you want, you could definitely make the ice cream different flavors. Vanilla, chocolate, strawberry…wherever your heart takes you. K had forgotten about the buttermilk ice cream recipe until he tasted it again. And then it was “oh, yes. I liked this.” Yay!

Directions for Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Vanilla Ice Cream

Cookie Dough part adapted from The Cookie Dough Lovers Cookbook

  • Buttermilk ice cream base
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup butter), room temperature
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 2 Tablespoons heavy cream (half and half or milk would also work, but probably not skim milk)
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

With your mixer, paddle together the butter and both sugars. You want the mixture to get fluffy.

IMG_9767

Then, add in the salt, vanilla, and cream. Mix until smooth.

IMG_9768

Then, stir in the flour part of the way. Add the chocolate chips and stir until there are no more flour pockets.

IMG_9769

You can refrigerate the cookie dough until you are ready to use it.

IMG_9770

When ready, scoop out small balls of the dough and place on a foil-lined baking sheet.

IMG_9787

Freeze for at least 30 minutes. Churn the ice cream.

Waiting to be churned!

Waiting to be churned!

After churning, stir in the cookie dough bits. 

Directions for Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Vanilla Ice Cream (without pictures)

Cookie Dough part adapted from The Cookie Dough Lovers Cookbook

  • Buttermilk ice cream base
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup butter), room temperature
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 2 Tablespoons heavy cream (half and half or milk would also work, but probably not skim milk)
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

With your mixer, paddle together the butter and both sugars. You want the mixture to get fluffy. Then, add in the salt, vanilla, and cream. Mix until smooth. Then, stir in the flour part of the way. Add the chocolate chips and stir until there are no more flour pockets. You can refrigerate the cookie dough until you are ready to use it.

When ready, scoop out small balls of the dough and place on a foil-lined baking sheet. Freeze for at least 30 minutes. Churn the ice cream. After churning, stir in the cookie dough bits.

9 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Buttermilk Ice Cream

  1. I am definitely intrigued by buttermilk ice cream lately…and I do usually have buttermilk sitting around despite my best efforts. I was just marveling with my husband a few weeks ago about how it’s crazy buttermilk has half the fat of whole milk. When I have buttermilk pancakes, I always feel like it’s so much more indulgent for some reason. : ) Anyway, despite this long winter over here, I’m still constantly craving ice cream and yours looks great!

  2. Hi – I just found your blog and I love it! I’ve never cooked with buttermilk except to make scones (I am from the UK) so I will definitely give this a go!

  3. Pingback: Tips-y Tuesdays: Bailey’s Cookies and Cream Milkshake | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

