Healthier Twice-Baked Potato

On Monday, I mentioned that I made chicken with a side dish. Well, here it is! I used to make a version of these potatoes back when I was a single cooker. It started in college when I would use Ranch seasoning with some sour cream and broccoli mixed in with the potatoes. They were an easy meatless dinner. I would eat one half for dinner, then save the other half for lunch the next day. When I had my own house, I would make them for myself, too. I don’t think I could convince K to eat these as a meal, and I didn’t have any of the ingredients I normally used. But, I decided to try something new. This filling was so good, that I didn’t care I couldn’t fit all of the filling in the potato halves–I just ate it with a spoon!

IMG_9783

You might already have a way of making these. Feel free to share your filling ideas! I have always loved the combo of a fluffy mashed potato-like filling with a crispy skin. K said I cheated a bit because I used the microwave for the first “baking”. Oh well. Shhh! It works just as well, and it’s faster!

Directions for Healthier Twice-Baked Potato

  • 1 Russet potato
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • Salt and pepper
  • All-purpose seasoning
  • 3 Tablespoons shredded cheddar cheese
  • Baking spray

Bake the potato either in an oven or in a microwave until fork tender. Allow it to cool for a few minutes. If not already, preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Slice the potato in half, through the long direction. Scoop out most of the insides of the potato halves. It is fine to leave a bit (it can make the potatoes easier to handle).

IMG_9771

Mix the potato insides with the yogurt, cheese, and as much seasoning that you need (taste as you go).

IMG_9772

IMG_9773

Spray the outsides of the potato halves with a bit of baking spray. Scoop the potato mixture into the potato halves, being careful to keep the filling fluffy (don’t pack it in).

IMG_9774

Bake on a foil-lined baking sheet for about 10 minutes until the filling is warm and lightly browned. If desired, you can use the broiler to get a crispier top.

IMG_9785

Directions for Healthier Twice-Baked Potato (without pictures)

  • 1 Russet potato
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • Salt and pepper
  • All-purpose seasoning
  • 3 Tablespoons shredded cheddar cheese
  • Baking spray

Bake the potato either in an oven or in a microwave until fork tender. Allow it to cool for a few minutes. If not already, preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Slice the potato in half, through the long direction. Scoop out most of the insides of the potato halves. It is fine to leave a bit (it can make the potatoes easier to handle). Mix the potato insides with the yogurt, cheese, and as much seasoning that you need (taste as you go). Spray the outsides of the potato halves with a bit of baking spray. Scoop the potato mixture into the potato halves, being careful to keep the filling fluffy (don’t pack it in). Bake on a foil-lined baking sheet for about 10 minutes until the filling is warm and lightly browned. If desired, you can use the broiler to get a crispier top.

6 thoughts on “Healthier Twice-Baked Potato

  1. My husband’s parents are Irish, and the potato loving stereotype is definitely true. He’ll love these!

Share Your Thoughts

