Cornflake Oven-Fried Chicken

This reminded me of my chip chicken. I’ve heard of using cornflakes before, but hadn’t tried it until now. Next time, I will add a bit of seasoning to the cornflakes because otherwise they can get a bit too breakfasty and not as savory. Feel free to spice this up and make it as hot as you like. We actually liked the leftovers a bit better than fresh. When I reheated the chicken, I warmed it in the oven and it helped make it extra crunchy. K wasn’t as crazy about the topping as the chip chicken, but we did like the brining. It really kept the chicken tender and tasty.

IMG_9782

This was a bigger hit with me than K, so I might not make it again. But, I think if I do make it again, I’ll know to bake it a bit crunchier and add lots of seasoning.

IMG_9781

I paired the chicken with a side dish I will share in my next post. So, stay tuned!

Directions for Cornflake Oven-Fried Chicken

Slightly adapted from Serious Eats

  • 3 Tablespoons kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 4 cups water
  • 2 pounds chicken thighs (or breasts), trimmed
  • Pepper
  • Paprika
  • Chili powder
  • Old Bay seasoning (optional)
  • Dried oregano
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • About 3 cups crushed Cornflake cereal

Mix together the salt, sugar, and water in a large bowl. Place the chicken in the mixture. Cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours, or up to 10 hours.

IMG_9765

When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In one dish, mix the flour with some pepper, paprika, chili powder, Old Bay seasoning, and oregano. In another bowl, place the buttermilk. In a different bowl, mix the Cornflakes with seasoning of your choice (pepper, paprika, Old Bay, etc.).

I added some seasoning to the buttermilk, too, but it's not necessary.

I added some seasoning to the buttermilk, too, but it’s not necessary.

Take the chicken pieces and pat them dry with paper towels. Dip the pieces in the flour mixture, then the buttermilk, and finally in the Cornflakes. Place on a baking dish lined with foil.

IMG_9779

Bake until cooked through, about 20-30 minutes.

IMG_9780

Directions for Cornflake Oven-Fried Chicken (without pictures)

Slightly adapted from Serious Eats

  • 3 Tablespoons kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 4 cups water
  • 2 pounds chicken thighs (or breasts), trimmed
  • Pepper
  • Paprika
  • Chili powder
  • Old Bay seasoning (optional)
  • Dried oregano
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • About 3 cups crushed Cornflake cereal

Mix together the salt, sugar, and water in a large bowl. Place the chicken in the mixture. Cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours, or up to 10 hours. When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In one dish, mix the flour with some pepper, paprika, chili powder, Old Bay seasoning, and oregano. In another bowl, place the buttermilk. In a different bowl, mix the Cornflakes with seasoning of your choice (pepper, paprika, Old Bay, etc.).

Take the chicken pieces and pat them dry with paper towels. Dip the pieces in the flour mixture, then the buttermilk, and finally in the Cornflakes. Place on a baking dish lined with foil. Bake until cooked through, about 20-30 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Cornflake Oven-Fried Chicken

    • I definitely understand! I had them from baking with them for cookies, and so I happened to have just the right amount. A good thing, too, because the store was out of them when I went.

Share Your Thoughts

