Molasses Spice Cookies

My dear friend Lisa left for New York City to explore the culinary worlds out there. We knew for a while, but it didn’t quite hit home until a few days before she left. We made different plans for last get-togethers: a potluck at her house, a Sunday brunch, and finally a dinner at one of her favorite places. The dinner was a group event with many of her former coworkers from two jobs ago. That’s the group my husband falls into, and how we first met! Well, I made a series of collages for her to remember us. I picked out the pictures I wanted to use, had K print them, then I cut them and layed them out. As I did the final step I really started crying. She asked me if it was hard leaving different friends when I moved here from Maryland, and I said that it was different. Basically, I was just one big sad mess because I was leaving all of my friends at once. There wasn’t time to think about each friend individually and what I would miss for each one. (That would have been really hard, so I’m glad my brain didn’t process that fully.) Of course, there was also the whole “I chose to come here for my husband” idea. That helped!

IMG_9721

 

Anyway, this is one of the few times I have had to say goodbye to singular friend, especially one as close as Lisa. Even typing this now I am getting teary. Darn it! (I love and miss you, Lisa!!) I wanted to give her a proper send-off, and hopefully we did. We had lots of memories in the past 2.5 years I’ve been out here. She helped me transition here, and I don’t know what I would have done without her friendship. I wish her so much success and happiness.

Part of the send-off was wanting to make her a dessert. I was going to make a cake, but I ended up having extra work hours (students had finals), so I needed to make something fast. I came across these cookies and thought she would like the flavors. They ended up being soft, nicely spiced, and a bit of the sugar and spice Lisa brings to life.

IMG_9724

Directions for Molasses Spice Cookies

Slightly adapted from Cook’s Illustrated Baking Book

  • 2.3 ounces granulated sugar, plus 1/4 cup for rolling
  • 11.25 ounces flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1.5 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1.5 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 10 Tablespoons butter, softened
  • 2.3 ounces dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup molasses (not blackstrap)
  • 1/4 cup Turbinado sugar for rolling (or you can use granulated sugar)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Prepare 2 baking sheets with parchment or silicone liners. Place the 1/4 cup granulated sugar and the Turbinado sugar in a wide bowl, and stir together.

In your stand mixer with the paddle attachment, beat together the butter, brown sugar, and 2.3 ounces granulated sugar on medium-high speed until fluffy (about 3 minutes).

IMG_9713

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, allspice, pepper, and salt.

IMG_9712

Reduce the mixer speed to medium-low and add the egg yolk and vanilla. Then increase the speed to medium and beat for 20 seconds. Drop the speed again to add the molasses, then beat again for about 20 seconds.

IMG_9714

Scrape down the bowl as necessary.

IMG_9715

Reduce the speed to low and slowly beat in the flour mixture (about 30 seconds). Make sure no flour pockets remain.

IMG_9716

 

Make balls with the dough and roll them in the sugar bowl to coat.

IMG_9717

Place them on the baking sheets, baking 1 sheet at a time.

IMG_9719

The cookies won’t spread very much, so you can fit more than for other cookies.

IMG_9720

Bake them for about 11 minutes. The cracks that form will look raw, but pull them out once the cookies are puffy and the edges have started to set.

Raw looking, but okay!

Raw looking, but okay!

IMG_9726

The cookies will finish baking on the sheet.

IMG_9722

Directions for Molasses Spice Cookies

Slightly adapted from Cook’s Illustrated Baking Book

  • 2.3 ounces granulated sugar, plus 1/4 cup for rolling
  • 11.25 ounces flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1.5 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1.5 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 10 Tablespoons butter, softened
  • 2.3 ounces dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup molasses (not blackstrap)
  • 1/4 cup Turbinado sugar for rolling (or you can use granulated sugar)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Prepare 2 baking sheets with parchment or silicone liners. Place the 1/4 cup granulated sugar and the Turbinado sugar in a wide bowl, and stir together.

In your stand mixer with the paddle attachment, beat together the butter, brown sugar, and 2.3 ounces granulated sugar on medium-high speed until fluffy (about 3 minutes). Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, allspice, pepper, and salt.

Reduce the mixer speed to medium-low and add the egg yolk and vanilla. Then increase the speed to medium and beat for 20 seconds. Drop the speed again to add the molasses, then beat again for about 20 seconds. Scrape down the bowl as necessary. Reduce the speed to low and slowly beat in the flour mixture (about 30 seconds). Make sure no flour pockets remain.

Make balls with the dough and roll them in the sugar bowl to coat. Place them on the baking sheets, baking 1 sheet at a time. The cookies won’t spread very much, so you can fit more than for other cookies. Bake them for about 11 minutes. The cracks that form will look raw, but pull them out once the cookies are puffy and the edges have started to set. The cookies will finish baking on the sheet.

2 thoughts on “Molasses Spice Cookies

  1. ALY!!!!! This is the SWEETEST post – and the cookies were even sweeter – and YOU ARE EVEN SWEETER! Thank you so much for all of the kind words and thoughts and feelings and love you have shown me! It means the world to me that you are so supportive of my crazy exploration. You have had a lot of major life transitions this past couple of years so I feel bad to add one more. But I am excited for the ways we will grow as long distance (I mean, you and K fell in love that way right? ;)) and then I’m excited for all of our visits, food travels, and then the day I step foot back in Seattle ready to bug the crap out of you guys and mess up your kitchen all the time again.

    The cookies were the best things I’ve ever tasted and I had to restrain myself the whole week they lasted. There was so much love and care in them. It was so super thoughtful of you to make space to make those cookies (and the collage) despite all the busy-ness, tiredness and stress! Thank you thank you thank you. This is a really important recipe to me.

    I’m so excited to see you in less than 2 months!! And for the super big deal adventure ahead of you two… 🙂

    • It’s hard to know what to make for someone leaving! 😦 You don’t want it to be good and make them think you’re happy they will be gone, but you want it to be good so they will return. 🙂 Missing you a lot Definitely can’t wait to see you soon. ❤

Share Your Thoughts

