Topic-Changing Thursdays: Shh! It’s a Surprise!

For those of you not in the know, there is a blogger who talks about many topics. Food, kids, parties, having chickens in her yard, painting, crafts…you name it! I started following her blog because of a Foodie Penpals program we were both in. No, we were never each other’s penpals in the program, but we still managed to send each other food. I’ve gotten to know her a bit better as time as passed, and I still love reading her blog. She has a great sense of humor, loves her family, and I find her hobbies interesting.

IMG_9820

Before you continue, if you don’t want to read more about cookies and things, you can also check out other baby shower guests’ posts here:

  • Heather at What Does She Do All Day? is lucky enough to live near Joanna, and cool enough to be great with crafts, cooking, sewing, and all of the fun things
  • Cinnamon shares her baby shower thoughts at her blog here, along with her fantastic photography skills
  • Renee has a yummy-sounding dish that would be perfect to serve at a party, or just have on hand for a quick lunch
  • Nikki is another fan of Joanna’s and is sharing her thoughts here
  • Ann cooks things that might scare other people. She also is a good writer, which means you need to check out her post for the shower here!

Sometimes one of us can’t comment on the other one’s posts as much. I wasn’t around much on the computer for a good stretch of December and January because of travel and, you know, feeling sick all of the time. She was one of the first people I shared my news with because I knew she would understand. You see, she had told me a while back about how she was feeling sick and not interested in certain food items. Ms. Midwestern Bite was expecting her second baby, and not only was it her second, but she will now have a perfect pair: a boy and a girl. So exciting. Well, at least for me who likes when there is balance in everything.

Anyway, the downside of having Joanna as a friend is that she lives in Ohio. Of course, I lived in a neighboring state for 28 years but had no clue. Now that I live across the country I know of her. Harrumph. This means that I can’t easily go to a baby shower for her. Instead, a few of us decided to create our own little online party for her. The instructions were to post whatever you wanted in relationship to babies, Joanna, etc. Of course, since I am primarily a food blogger, I decided to share a recipe.

Knowing Joanna and her family a bit, I knew that Oreo cookies were a big favorite for her husband, especially. And of course Joanna loves chocolate, too. I’d noticed a trend in gluten-free ideas she had been sharing, so I decided to create a gluten-free version. I mostly succeeded. There is no flour in the recipe…except I might have overlooked the flour in one of the ingredients (*cough*cookie butter*cough*). Oops! Well, if you want to make it completely gluten-free, you could use 1/2 cup of peanut butter in place of the cookie butter. I hope she doesn’t mind too much…

IMG_9821

Oh, and because it seemed cruel to describe these cookies and not share them…I am actually sending you some, Joanna. They will be in the mail as soon as another something arrives for you. (Darn shipping delays!) Since I haven’t made your batch yet, you can let me know if you would prefer them with peanut butter or cookie butter. I am happy to oblige. 🙂

So, here is to you, Joanna…Happy Baby Shower! Happy (near) End of Pregnancy! And many happy wishes for you and your family as you celebrate your little girl.

IMG_9814

I am sharing the cookie recipe below. The frosting is actually a 1/2 recipe of this frosting that I mixed with some pink food coloring because, duh, it’s a girl baby shower. 🙂 The recipe as it is written will make about 10 medium-sized sandwiches. If you want closer to Oreo size, then just make the cookies smaller as you scoop them out. The cookies are like Oreo cakesters, so they are soft and almost brownie-like.

IMG_9810

Directions for Homemade Oreo Cakesters

  • 80 g brown sugar
  • 250 g cookie butter (or 1/2 cup peanut butter)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 50 g Dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • Frosting of your choice

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and prepare 2 baking sheets. Mix together the brown sugar and cookie butter until fluffy.

IMG_9799

Then, add in the eggs, vanilla, and salt.

IMG_9800

Once combined, stir in the cocoa powder.

IMG_9801

Spoon out the cookies (making them as even in size as you can)  with a little space between.

IMG_9803

Bake each tray for about 10 minutes. The cookies will dome, then fall a bit as they cool.

IMG_9805

IMG_9809

Cool completely before frosting.

IMG_9812

IMG_9818

Directions for Homemade Oreo Cakesters (without pictures)

  • 80 g brown sugar
  • 250 g cookie butter (or 1/2 cup peanut butter)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 50 g Dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • Frosting of your choice

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and prepare 2 baking sheets. Mix together the brown sugar and cookie butter until fluffy. Then, add in the eggs, vanilla, and salt. Once combined, stir in the cocoa powder.

Spoon out the cookies (making them as even in size as you can)  with a little space between. Bake each tray for about 10 minutes. The cookies will dome, then fall a bit as they cool. Cool completely before frosting.

15 thoughts on “Topic-Changing Thursdays: Shh! It’s a Surprise!

  1. Cookies in the mail whaaa? Amazing! Thanks so much for this idea and the kind words Aly. It’s very neat to have so many talented virtual friends!

  2. It was incredibly thoughtful of you to put this together!

    Oreos are rarely allowed in my house. For good reason since they usually don’t make it through the night. Jo has been known to hide them in odd places so she can have them all to herself.

    So these look incredible!

  3. Sniff sniff SNIFF. This was too sweet of you to do and I was totally surprised! And I can’t believe you are sending me cookies in the mail!!!!! This really was the nicest thing ever and I so grateful to have such amazing friends. Peanut butter sounds great to me . . . mostly because I’ve been craving peanut butter lately and I rarely have pregnancy cravings.

    Thanks again. Thank you thank you thank you!

  4. Pingback: Biting Into Valentine's Day

Share Your Thoughts

