Topic-Changing Thursdays: Life-Changing Moments

Since November, there has been lots of behind-the-scenes stuff going on. You may have noticed fewer desserts on here, or fewer comments from me on your blog. There is a good reason for this, and I hope to be doing better with that stuff soon! I don’t want to go into all of the crazy little details, but if you want to read a little bit about me (and not very much about food) then continue on. If you aren’t continuing, then tune in next week for more normal Fudging Ahead moments. 🙂

IMG_9764

I will start with the conclusion so that you don’t have to be on pins and needles. No unnecessary drama here, folks! K and I are expecting our first baby in July! We are super super super excited and have already begun planning. (Those of you who know me well, know that I am quite the planner.) So, today isn’t just topic-changing, but quite life-changing.

Baby Picture

We waited until this past year or so to start a family because we wanted to get settled as a married couple first. Well, starting in November, I began to feel a bit sick. But then it eventually went away. Later, when we returned from Maryland in early December, I began feeling super sick. We had to run through the airport because our first flight had been late. I could barely run, and K had to help me with my bag. This was embarrassing because I felt like I must have gotten super out of shape over our vacation. When I tried to pick up with my workouts at home, I was sluggish and nauseated. After a week or so of this, I finally took the test. After all of this, you can imagine our excitement at seeing the two bars appear. At least I had a reason for feeling so horrible!

Flying back to Seattle...do you remember the crazy snow storms in the Midwest? Here you go!

Flying back to Seattle…do you remember the crazy snow storms in the Midwest? Here you go!

 

DSC03455

Of course, I had no idea how far along I was, so when we visited our family and friends for Christmas, I had to keep quiet because I wanted to wait until I heard from the doctor that everything was fine. My appointment was a few days after we got back to Seattle, and after having my first transvaginal ultrasound (it looked a lot scarier than it ended up being, FYI), we got to see the first pictures of this little person. Apparently I was much further along than we first thought because it really looked like a baby! It was amazing being able to see it and hear the heartbeat.

We knew during this picture...but hadn't shared the news yet.

We knew during this picture…but hadn’t shared the news yet.

So, after all of this….I have no idea what will happen down the road with my blog. I hope to still be making and sharing food with you. I expect that my posts might be a bit less frequent, but at least you’ll know why! Food has been tricky for me. I apologize that I haven’t been able to spend more time looking at everyone else’s posts. I have been able to do some cooking, but baking has not been appealing. Yeah, how did I not guess it when I realized I wasn’t interested in dessert!? This is also why I had such strong cheese cravings, and random other loves like potato chips.

Especially chips with onion dip!

Especially chips with onion dip!

I will say that my one main treat has been gummy bears. They work surprisingly well to stave off hunger and nausea.

IMG_9762

Peanut butter has also become less interesting to me, which is bizarre because normally I love it. Oh well, I am still trying to eat it some to keep the future baby okay with peanuts/etc.

I will keep you posted on any updates and changes as they happen. Until then…wish me luck!

23 thoughts on “Topic-Changing Thursdays: Life-Changing Moments

  1. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What exciting news! Dessert was a big no no for me, too at first. Joanna and I were taking a cake decorating class when I was newly pregnant with Cupcake and the smell of the frosting killed me! Hopefully the food aversions pass and you can get back to normal eating soon.

  2. Congrats! Your baby is going to be ADORABLE. I have no tips for blogging with a new baby because mine was six months old when I started my blog. I have been prescheduling posts lately to keep things interested for the four months after the new babe is born, but they aren’t food related.

    I hear ya on the food issues. Cooking dinner for the first three months I was pregnant with this one was utter torture. I tried the crockpot a few times thinking that would help but it was worse because I just smelled it all day. Ugh.

    Things will get better for sure though. Just do what you can and don’t stress about anything. It all works out fine in the end.

    • Thanks for the wisdom. 🙂 I know I will keep bugging you for more! I prescheduled a bit during times when the nausea wasn’t so bad, so I am hoping to keep staying ahead. And who knows, maybe the blog will turn into a partial baby blog. 🙂

  3. Best phone call I’ve had in a long time! So happy and excited for you and K. Hope to see you and your expanding belly in the spring!

  4. Congrats on your wonderful news! What a blessing. 🙂 Time to experiment with chip recipes. 😉
    Hopefully you will continue with your blog, as I enjoy the read. 🙂 But taking care of ourselves and our families…priority #1 and I admire you for thinking that…no matter what that might mean for your blog.

  5. Awesome! I’m sure my weird food blog is the LAST one you might want to check out, so I won’t be offended but will be glad to see you back when you’re ready.

    My biggest advice is to keep your “me time” sacred, which may or may not include blogging, depending on you. We hope it does!

    And as for the peanut butter, there are diff theories. I ate it with the first pregnancy and she’s allergic, so if you’re not into it don’t worry. 🙂

    Congrats!!!!

  6. What AMAZING news, Alyssa! Congratulations to you and your husband! You guys are in for quite an adventure but I have a feeling you are ready. : ) I totally get not being into food right now. I remember that for a month or two early on in my pregnancy, I could not watch cooking shows and the thought and smell of some foods made me feel so sick. I had morning sickness but only for a month or so…hopefully, you will feel much better soon. I lived off of saltines and jolly ranchers for a while (and actually lost weight the first trimester) so I can understand the gummy bears.

    Wishing you a very smooth pregnancy and delivery. Keep us posted!!

    • Thanks. 🙂 I will update if I get more interesting news. So far, it’s the basic “you have a baby with the necessary parts”. (Not that I’m complaining about the basics, it’s pretty exciting for us!)

  7. Pingback: Topic-Changing Thursdays: Shh! It’s a Surprise! | fudgingahead

  8. Pingback: Homemade Wontons for Wonton Soup | fudgingahead

  9. Pingback: Buttermilk Drop Biscuits | fudgingahead

  10. Pingback: My Favorite Fudgy Brownies | fudgingahead

  11. Pingback: Pick a Present . . . ANY Present!

  12. Pingback: Topic-Changing Thursdays: Enter the Fudgelet | fudgingahead

  13. Pingback: Topic-Changing Thursdays: The Fudgelet is 3 Years Old! | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

