Braised Potatoes and Onions

The final post for Starch Week. I won’t lie. Originally this was supposed to be Grains Week because I thought I had three posts of grains. Apparently I had been counting potatoes as a grain. Hmm. Oh well. So, small changes later and we have starches! Yay! Besides, I think starches get a bad rap. They might have some bad stuff in them, but hey, some people get mad at fruit for having sugar. *sigh* So, you know, I don’t care that potatoes have some problems, too. No food is perfect, but we should enjoy food and take the nutrients we can. Potatoes pair so well with chicken, and that’s how we had these. This recipe is a little more involved than roasted potatoes, but still mostly hands off. If you are in the mood for potatoes that are super soft, almost like mashed potatoes, then you will love these. It works best with golden potatoes, not the waxy purple or red potatoes. But, this recipe still softens them some. It makes purple-potato-haters like my husband bigger fans.

IMG_9594

By the way, stay tuned for next week. It’s a shortened week of posting for me because I will be posting on Tuesday and Thursday instead. There is a good reason. I promise. But you won’t find out until Thursday unless I already told you or you are super clever.

IMG_9596

If you happen to notice the different pans, it is because I was confirming you can do this recipe in a basic cast iron skillet, as well as in a Dutch Oven.

Directions for Braised Potatoes and Onions

  • 1 pound of potatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • Seasoning of choice (salt, pepper, all-purpose, rosemary, etc.)
  • Olive oil

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In an oven-safe pan with sides at least a couple inches tall, pour some olive oil to cover the bottom of the pan. Add the potatoes, onions, and seasoning, stirring to coat with the olive oil.

IMG_9548

Try to spread them out to form a flat layer. Then, brown the potatoes on each side. This will take about 5-10 minutes. Remove from the heat, pour on a little more olive oil, again stirring to coat, then cover with a lid and place in the oven.

IMG_9549

Bake for about 30 minutes with the lid on, then stir and bake for 10 minutes with the lid off. If you want the potatoes to brown further, you can turn on the broiler for a couple minutes until browned to your liking.

IMG_9593

IMG_9550

Directions for Braised Potatoes and Onions (without pictures)

  • 1 pound of potatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • Seasoning of choice (salt, pepper, all-purpose, rosemary, etc.)
  • Olive oil

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In an oven-safe pan with sides at least a couple inches tall, pour some olive oil to cover the bottom of the pan. Add the potatoes, onions, and seasoning, stirring to coat with the olive oil. Try to spread them out to form a flat layer. Then, brown the potatoes on each side. This will take about 5-10 minutes. Remove from the heat, pour on a little more olive oil, again stirring to coat, then cover with a lid and place in the oven. Bake for about 30 minutes with the lid on, then stir and bake for 10 minutes with the lid off. If you want the potatoes to brown further, you can turn on the broiler for a couple minutes until browned to your liking.

6 thoughts on “Braised Potatoes and Onions

  1. Love your love for the noble potato! If you’ve been to Ireland you might know that often they serve potatoes done three ways at the same meal. I feel like they might find purple ones shocking and scandalous! (In a good way)

    • Hehe. I’m a smidge Irish, so I guess my love for potatoes comes honestly! What’s cool is that my Chinese in-laws use potatoes for some dishes, too, and it’s not too different from the stewed kind.

  2. The last time I bought a bag of purple potatoes, one of the ones in the middle was rotten and I had to throw out the whole bag. That may have been the only time I’ve bought purple potatoes actually. That is really not relevant to your yummy looking food. Looking forward to Thursday although I did miss your usual Monday morning post 😦

    • Awww. 😦 I’ve been lucky buying potatoes from Costco. They’ve kept pretty well, unlike some of the grocery store ones. I usually only get the purple ones from the farmer’s markets, if they’re not randomly in an assorted bag. They’re fun to mix up the look a bit.

      And I love “not relevant” comments. No worries here! 😀 There will definitely be a post Thursday, and I just finished the posts for next week.

Share Your Thoughts

